## Committee on Tenure and Academic Freedom Annual Report 2018-2019

Committee Members: John Bergendahl (Chair), Aaron Deskins (Secretary), James Doyle, Jennifer Rudolph, Cosme Furlong-Vazquez, Dmitry Korkin

CTAF took the following actions during the 2018-2019 Academic Year:

- 1. With departmental tenure committees, reviewed six tenure cases and made recommendations to the Provost.
- 2. Met with the Provost to discuss individual cases as appropriate.
- 3. Reviewed five proposals for appointment with tenure and made recommendations to the Provost.
- 5. Presented a session on the tenure review process during New Faculty Orientation in August 2018.
- 6. Worked on and submitted to COG a motion to revise departmental tenure committee membership for faculty whose primary responsibilities are to a program.
- 7. Held an open meeting on April 18<sup>th</sup>, 2019 with untenured tenure--track faculty to provide information on the tenure process at WPI.
- 8. Held an open meeting on April 18<sup>th</sup>, 2019 with departmental tenure committees to discuss the tenure review process.
- 9. Held meetings with departmental tenure committees from departments with candidates for tenure review in 2019-2020 to discuss procedure.
- 10. Circulated the roster of non-tenured tenure track faculty at the end of the academic year as required by the Faculty Handbook.
- 11. Appointed A. Deskins (until 2021) as the new chair and J. Doyle (until 2022) as the new secretary, as well as welcomed new members S. Olson (until 2023), M. Claypool (until 2023), and L. Mathews (until 2022) for the 2019-2020 academic year.

Respectfully submitted,

Aaron Deskins 2018-2019 CTAF Secretary