## **Committee on Governance: Meeting Minutes**

Meeting #18: 12 January 2022 Faculty Governance Branch Offices

<u>Present</u>: Len Albano (Secretary, CEE); Nancy Burnham (PH); Tanja Dominko (BBT); Tahar El-Korchi (Chair, CEE); George Heineman (CS); Mark Richman (Secretary of the Faculty, AE); Susan Roberts (CHE); Wole Soboyejo (Provost)

- 1. Prof. El-Korchi called the meeting to order at 10:10 am.
- 2. The agenda was approved as distributed.
- 3. The minutes of COG meeting #17 on January 6, 2022 were approved with modifications.

## 4. Preparations for the January Faculty Meeting:

Prof. Richman outlined three items for the agenda of the Faculty Meeting on January 20<sup>th</sup>. The first is an open discussion on "The Challenges of Academic and Home Life," which is an important aspect of our community's wellbeing. A combined motion from COG and the Committee on Financial and Administrative Policy (FAP) will be presented for discussion only. The intent of the motion is to expand FAP's membership in order to give some flexibility in the distribution of its workload. Depending on the discussions in today's COG meeting, Prof. Richman also expects that COG will give an update on our efforts to modify COG's membership to ensure NTT representation.

## 5. Motion to Modify the COG Membership and Election Procedure:

COG members voted on and approved introducing two draft motions at the January Faculty Meeting. The two motions combine to ensure representation by teaching and research faculty within Faculty Governance. The motions affect Part One of the *Faculty Handbook* (Constitution and Bylaws of the WPI Faculty), and consequently they must be initially presented for discussion, feedback, and possible revision, and then they may be presented for voting at a subsequent Faculty Meeting.

The first motion modifies the membership of COG to guarantee representation by secured nontenure-track (NTT) faculty. It expands COG to six elected faculty members and requires that two of the six elected faculty members are NTT faculty. The motion also requires that the remaining four elected members and the Chair of COG be tenured faculty members to balance the participation of untenured faculty members with tenured faculty members. The motion adds that the President's appointment to COG be made in collaboration with COG as another important element in balancing the Committee's composition. The first motion also simplifies the election procedure for COG members by reducing the number of faculty names required on the final election ballot and codifies certain established practices (COG meeting #12).

The second motion establishes a formal *ad hoc* Committee of the Faculty with the charge to raise and address issues that are specific to teaching and research faculty. Named the Committee on Teaching and Research Faculty (CTRF), this new committee will have five members – three elected members

plus the two elected NTT faculty members serving on COG. CTRF will operate for three years to help guide Faculty Governance's expansion to include NTT faculty members.

Approval of these two motions was reached after considerable discussion and exchange of ideas on several key issues, which included accelerating the participation of NTT faculty members on COG, considering feedback from past and present members of the TRT Council, establishing balanced representation on COG that is consistent with the composition of the faculty, and creating a formal mechanism within Faculty Governance devoted to issues specific to teaching and research faculty. Prof. El-Korchi and Prof. Richman agreed to make the two draft proposals ready by Thursday, January 13<sup>th</sup> so that they can be included in the packet of meeting materials for the January Faculty Meeting.

6. The meeting was adjourned at 11:40 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Leonard Albano Secretary, COG