The Wire @ WPI Online
VOLUME 13, NO. 2     NOVEMBER 2000

The Faculty

Computer Science Professor David C. Brown is a member of the Product Development Council at Knowledge Technologies International (KTI) of Lexington, Mass. Established in 1997, the council is composed of senior engineers and executives from aerospace, automotive and industrial manufacturers, academicians, and industry analysts. Its primary objective is to define the processes, challenges, trends and resultant technology that will propel our mutual businesses into the next product design revolution.

Chrysanthe Demetry, WPI's Norton Professor of Mechanical Engineering, received the 2000 Bradley Stoughton Award for Young Teachers from ASM, the Materials Information Society. Demetry was cited "for exceptional pedagogy as applied to materials education and the ability to motivate students and generate interest in materials science." She was honored in October at the ASM Awards Dinner in St. Louis.

Alexander E. Emanuel, professor of electrical and computer engineering, received the 1999 John Mungenast International Power Quality Award. Named for the editor of Power Quality Assurance magazine, the award is sponsored by the magazine and by E Source, an energy information service company. E Source President Bill Howe described Emanuel as a "pillar of accomplishment and conscience in the PQ world." Mungenast cited him for enabling the industry to meet its full potential.

Robert W. Fitzgerald, professor of civil and environmental engineering and professor of fire protection engineering, was elected a fellow and honored at the Society of Fire Protection Engineers 50th Anniversary awards and honors banquet.

Germano S. Iannacchione, assistant professor of physics, won a Research Innovation Award from the Research Corp., a foundation for the advancement of science. He was honored for his "New Approach for Calorimetric Spectroscopy." The award will fund equipment, supplies and research stipends. Iannacchione is also a research affiliate at MIT's Center for Materials Science.

Marianne Janack, assistant professor of humanities and arts, received a Pembroke Postdoctoral Fellowship to Brown University's Pembroke Center for Teaching and Research on Women. Four fellowships are awarded each year. From September 2000 through May 2001 Janack and the other Pembroke Fellows are participating in a roundtable conference and weekly research seminars, presenting two public papers, and pursuing individual research. This year's theme is "The Question of Emotion." Janack's research focus is emotion and rationality.

L. Ramdas Ram-Mohan, professor of physics and professor of electrical and computer engineering, has been elected to fellowship in the American Physical Society. He was cited "for his development of powerful analytic and computational methods for the investigation of the properties of novel semiconductor heterostructures."

The following professors were honored by the Board of Trustees at the annual Faculty Honors Convocation:

David S. Adams, associate professor of biology and biotechnology, was the first faculty member to receive the new Trustees Award for Outstanding Academic Advising

Pamela J. Weathers, professor of biology and biotechnology, was presented with the Trustees Award for Outstanding Research and Scholarship

Stephen J. Weininger, professor of chemistry, received the Trustees Award for Outstanding Teaching.

Studying the world's tiniest machines

NSF honors physics professor

New books feature work of University authors

New directors for MFE, aerospace engineering

Professor making history as Fulbright fellow

ME welcomes new department head

[WPI] [Contents] [Top]
Last modified: Dec 11, 2000, 16:28 EST