WPI Wire, Vol. 10, No. 1 - Spring 1996

Alumni Chronicle

Former WPI president wins Grogan Award

John Lott Brown '46, WPI's interim president from November 1993 to August 1995, is this year's winner of the William R. Grogan Award. He will be honored during Reunion in June.

An electrical engineering major at WPI, Brown went on to earn a master's degree in psychology at Temple University and a Ph.D. in psychology at Columbia University. A renowned researcher in human vision, he was president of the University of South Florida in Tampa from 1978 to 1988 and was interim director of the Center for Microelectronics Research and director of the Human Factors Division of the Center for Urban Transportation Research at the University of South Florida. He returned to WPI as interim p resident after Jon C. Strauss resigned to accept a post at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. During his short tenure at WPI, Brown built strong bonds and alliances with both the faculty and the student body. His contributions were recognized by WPI stu dents through his induction into Skull, the senior honorary society.

Brown received the Robert H. Goddard Award for Outstanding Professional Achievement in 1969 and an honorary doctor of science degree in 1984, when he also served as Commencement speaker. He is a fellow of the Optical Society of America, the American Psych ological Association and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

The Grogan award, established in 1990, is presented for outstanding contributions by an individual in support of the mission of the college or the welfare of its students. It honors Dean of Undergraduate Studies Emeritus Grogan, who graduated with a degre e in electrical engineering in June 1945 with the accelerated Class of 1946 and earned his master's degree in electrical engineering in 1947. Grogan helped draft the WPI Plan and oversaw its implementation and administration; he remains involved in the pr ojects program. In 1990, the year he retired, he received an honorary doctor of engineering degree at Commencement. Donald N. Zwiep, professor and Mechanical Engineering Department head emeritus, won the Grogan award last year.

[WPI] [Up] [Contents] [Back] [Top] [Forward]

Last modified: Thu Jun 10 10:45:33 EDT 1999