The WPI Task Force on Sustainability

Mission 

The purpose of the WPI Task Force on Sustainability, led by John Orr and Jeff Solomon as Co-Chairs, is to provide leadership and coordination for WPI's campus-wide efforts in energy and resource conservation and reduction in the harmful environmental impacts of our operations, all directed toward enhancing the long-term sustainability of WPI's activities and the environment of which we are a part.  We are an educational institution; thus, these goals are interwoven with our academic goals in teaching about the practices of sustainable design and the impacts of behavioral changes, as well as in conducting research in the reduction of environmental impacts and in methods of enhancing sustainability.

The task force is drawn from, and works with, all segments of the WPI community:  students, faculty, and staff.  Further, since WPI is an active member of the local, regional, and world communities, the work of this task force will have impacts beyond the WPI campus.

The task force will produce an Annual Sustainability Report of its operations and accomplishments.

Membership

Task Force members are appointed by the President.

The WPI Task Force on Sustainability Members
John A. Orr  Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering orr@wpi.edu 
Jeffrey S. Solomon Executive VP/CFO, Finance and Operations solomon@wpi.edu 
Alfred DiMauro Assistant VP for Facilties fred@wpi.edu
Philip Clay Dean of Students

pclay@wpi.edu    

Amy Morton Chief Marketing Officer

ammorton@wpi.edu

Rick Sisson Dean of Graduate Studies sisson@wpi.edu
Liz Tomaszewski Facilities Systems Manager/Sustainability Coordinator ltomasz@wpi.edu
Joe Kraskouskas Dining Services Manager joe_k@wpi.edu
Linda Looft  Assistant VP of Government & Communication Relations lclooft@wpi.edu
Karen Oates  Dean of Arts & Science, Professor koates@wpi.edu
Rob Krueger Director, Environmental and Sustainability Studies Program krueger@wpi.edu
Paul Mathisen Associate Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering mathisen@wpi.edu
Pam Weathers  Professor of Biology & Biotechnology weathers@wpi.edu
Ryan Pollin Students for a Just and Stable Future rypollin@wpi.edu
Victor Hu  President of Student Green Team vwhu@wpi.edu
Andrea Bourke Student Sustainability Coordinator/Student Green Team

aybourke@wpi.edu

Casey Hayes  Student Govenment Association casey_hayes@wpi.edu

 

 
  • Email a Friend
  • Bookmark this Page
  • Share this Page

Join in the Sustainability Discussion

We need community input on to build consensus on the future directions for WPI. Contact green@wpi.edu, or check out What You Can Do.