Prior to 2007

Hobart Newell Award Dinner

We take pride in the many accomplishments of our alumni, one of which is the Hobart Newell Award. Each year one graduate of the WPI ECE department is honored for outstanding professional contributions.

The namesake of the award, Prof. Hobart Newell, was a leader of a much earlier telecommunications revolution, beginning his career at Westinghouse Labs after his WPI graduation in 1918. While at Westinghouse, he was instrumental in establishing the pioneering broadcast station KDKA in Pittsburg. Prof. Newell joined the WPI faculty in 1921, and taught electrical engineering here for 44 years. He brought modern electronics into a profession and a department that had been dominated by electrical power engineering, and he received the first Trustees Award for Outstanding Teaching at WPI. Prof. Newell was a Fellow of the IEEE.

Previous recipients of the Newell Award include: William R. Grogan, '46, Paul A. Allaire, '60, Ronald L. Zarrella, '71, Robert E. McIntosh Jr., '62, John Lott Brown, '46, Donald H. Foley, '66, H. Richard Freeman, '61, Peter B. Myers, '46, Alfred A. Molinari Jr., '63, John C Petrillo, '71, and Robert Woog, '68.

The 2002 Newell Award was presented to Michael J. Grady '71, Executive Vice President of Chinook Communications, for his outstanding professional accomplishments. A banquet was held on Thursday April 25, 2002.

This year's winner, Mike Grady, with President Parrish

Some guests enjoy the friendly atmosphere

Also presented, the Satin Award to ECE Professor D.R. Brown

April 25, 2002