2010 ECE Provost’s MQP Competition Winners Announced

Two ECE MQP teams tie for First Place in the 2010 ECE Provost’s MQP Competition

Ramsey Abouzahra, Cengiz Karakoyunlu, Yuan Shi, and Billy Zhong Tie for First Place

First Place Team of Ramsey Abouzahra, Cengiz Karakoyunlu, Yuan Shi, and Billy Zhong

The Electrical and Computer Engineering Department welcomed twenty-seven MQP project teams on Project Presentation Day, April 22, 2010. Out of the twenty-seven teams who presented, twelve were nominated for the Provost’s Competition. Six finalists were chosen and competed on April 26, 2010. The ECE Provost’s MQP Competition Committee awarded the following projects with the distinction of Provost’s MQP Competition Winner:

First Place (tie)

Hybrid Indoor Geolocation for Robotics Applications
Ramsey Abouzahra, Cengiz Karakoyunlu, Yuan Shi, Billy Zhong
Advisor: Kaveh Pahlavan

Surface Electromyogram Simulator for Meoelectrically Controlled Prosthesis Testing
Stephen Jung, John Meklenburg, Sean Patrick
Advisor: Edward Clancy
Sponsor: Liberating Technologies

Second Place

Bluetooth Digital Voltmeter
Omar Kiyani, Mairaj Malik
Advisor: John McNeill

Third Place

Indoor Navigation System for Handheld Devices
Manh-Hung Le, Dimitris Saragas, Nathan Webb
Advisor: Alexander Wyglinski
Sponsor: University of Limerick Wireless Access Centre

Honorable Mention

GPS Flight Navigation System
Nicholas Granata-Cappabianca
Advisor: Fred Looft

Electrostatic Discharge and Electromagnetic Interference Design and Testing of Power Plant Safety Control Cabinet
Jola Myrta
Advisor: Peder Pedersen
Sponsor: Westinghouse Electric

The Major Qualifying Project (MQP) is a high-level design or research project required in the student's major field. Through the MQP every WPI student has the chance to experience the kind of real-world problem solving that will soon characterize their professional careers. With an MQP on their resume, WPI students have a leg up on the competition when it comes to launching careers or gaining admission to the best graduate schools.

Teams were awarded at the 15th Annual ECE Senior Banquet, held on April 29, 2010. Congratulations to all our MQP teams and award winners.

First Place Winners John Meklenberg and Sean Patrick
Second Place Winners Omar Kiyani and Mairaj Malik with Professor John McNeill
Third Place Winners Manh-Hung Le, Dimitris Saragas, and Nathan Webb

May 25, 2010