ECE Hosts the 17th Annual Senior Banquet

The ECE Department Celebrates with the Class of 2012!

Dinner and Awards were Celebrated at the ECE Senior Banquet!

The Electrical and Computer Engineering Department hosted the senior class of 2012 at the 17th Annual Senior Banquet at Maxwell Silverman's Toolhouse on April 26. Faculty and students celebrated the evening with dinner, awards and fun conversation. Hosted by Professors John McNeill and Ted Clancy, the event began with the universal feeling of relief that projects and tests are now completed. This is also known as CDR (Completion of Degree Requirements) Day. 

After dinner, Professor McNeill was the Master of Ceremonies and assisted with the presentation of awards from IEEE, HKN, Provost MQP as well as the Harold S. Black Award presented to Outstanding ECE Student. 

2012 IEEE Advancing Technology for Humanity Awards:

 IEEE Student Branch Senior Advisor (aka “That Guy”) - Christopher Kevorkian
 IEEE Student Branch Faculty and Tango Advisor - Hossein Hakim
 IEEE Student Branch President - Oliver Rich
 IEEE Student Branch Webmaster - Sebastian Courtney
 IEEE Student Branch Secretary - Henrique Polido
 IEEE Student Branch Publicist - Andrew Wolff
 IEEE Student Branch Photographer - Rob Capizzio
 IEEE Student Branch GrillMaster/Lounge Manager - Sarah Fischer
 IEEE Student Branch Webmaster - Molly Mioduszewski 

2012 Community Service Awards:

 WPI-IEEE Community Service Award - Stephen Bitar
 WPI-IEEE Community Service Award - Kaung Myat Win
 WPI-IEEE Community Service Award - Umair Khan
 WPI-IEEE Community Service Award - Colleen Sweeney

The Eta Kappa Nu (HKN) Awards for 2011-12 are as follows:

1. Outstanding Professor: Xinming Huang
2. Outstanding Teaching Assistant: Umair I. Khan
3. Outstanding Senior Tutor: Tayyar Rzayev
4. Outstanding Contributor: Fred J. Looft III

2012 ECE Provost’s MQP Competition Results:

First Place
Compact COMMNAV Antenna for Handset Application
Jeffrey Elloian
Advisors: Reinhold Ludwig, Sergey Makarov

Second Place
Software Defined Radar
Shahil Kantesaria, Nathan Olivarez
Advisor: Edward Clancy
Sponsor: MIT Lincoln Lab

Third Place
A 8x1 Wideband Antenna Array
Brennan Ashton, Branislav Jovanovic, Tayyar Rzayev
Advisor: Alexander Emanuel, Sergey Makarov

Honorable Mention

Rooftop Solar Panel MQP or Hall Effect Sensor Monitoring of Alternative Energy Sources
Anthony Ducimo, Kurt Snieckus, Nathaniel VerLee
Advisor: John McNeill
Sponsor: NECAMSID (Allegro Microsystems, Analog Devices)

Home Energy Automation Technology
Michael Audi, Scott Cloutier, John Manero
Advisor: William Michalson

Firefighter Indoor Navigation using Distributed SLAM
Nicholas Long, Matthew Zubiel
Advisor: James Duckworth, David Cyganski 

2012 Harold S. Black Award:

This award was presented by the faculty to an ECE student who has demonstrated outstanding creativity and enthusiasm in engineering problem solving, practical implementation of design, and exemplary character in contributions to the welfare of the WPI Community. The ECE Department presented this award to Anthony P. Ducimo.

A special Congratulations to all the Students, Faculty and Staff  who have been honored for their hardwork.

May 8, 2012

  • Email a Friend
  • Bookmark this Page
  • Share this Page