Eighth Annual IEEE Spark Party was a Huge Success!

Fun Memories Created at the Spark Party!

Eight ECE Students Awarded the IEEE PES Scholarship

The 8th Annual IEEE Spark Party took place on November 8, 2013 at 6pm in Newell Hall, AK116. Close to 300 people attended the evening, which featured eleven acts by ECE Faculty and ECE students. A buffet dinner was sponsored by the generosity of Analog Devices, The Math Works, WPI Graduate Student Government and Phoenix Electric.

The welcoming introduction was presented by Samuel Francois and Jordyn Rombola. A wonderful version of the Alma Mater and National Anthem was performed by Audiophiles.

The evening consisted of performances from The Spark Machine, Electromagnetic Brain Waves and Hatha Yoga by Professor Emanuel, A Call to the Next generation of Magnetic Engineers (Magnets without Sparks) by Dr. Marc Thompson and his adorable daughter Sophie Thompson, The Amazing MOSFET-Detecting Invisible Electric Fields, by Professor Bitar and CSI: AK by Professor McNeill.

Additional performances were Mid-Autumn Festival Song by Pengyu Gou, Padirbot by Professor Padir, Ran Li and Ruixiang Du, Smoke Signals MQP by Professor Bitar, Jeffrey Blanco, Andrew Cunningham and Petra Hartman, Feasibility Study of a High Powered Human Exo-Skeleton Capable of High Altitude Flight by Michael Delph and Free Shirts from Salik Siddiqui.

In addition to the night’s events, Professor Orr and Professor Emanuel presented eight students with the IEEE Power and Energy Scholarship (PES) certificates. The IEEE PES Scholarship Plus Initiative recognizes undergraduate students who are interested in power and energy engineering careers. These students are considered high achievers with strong GPA’s.

The eight PES Scholarship Plus Initiative winners are:

  • Ali Akhtar, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, 2015
  • Mohammad Ghani, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, 2014
  • Jeremy Giguere, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, 2015
  • Jordyn Rombola, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, 2014
  • Gregory Sharp, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, 2014
  • Christopher Sontag, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, 2014
  • Patrick Sullivan, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, 2014
  • Julia Truong, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, 2016

Congratulations to these eight ECE students for this amazing achievement!

The evening came to a close with the giant Tesla Coils with the assistance of Matthew Chase. A very special thank you to Petra Hartman and Professor Emanuel as well as all those involved who made this evening such a memorable event!

November 13, 2013

  • Email a Friend
  • Bookmark this Page
  • Share this Page