Eleven ECE Students Receive an IEEE PES Scholarship

Eleven Electrical & Computer Engineering students were selected by industry and academic representatives to receive a $2,000 IEEE PES Scholarship.

Eleven Electrical & Computer Engineering students were selected to receive an IEEE PES Scholarship in the amount of $2,000 each.  Now in its second year, the IEEE PES Scholarship Plus Initiative awarded a total of 228 PES Scholarships selected from over 150 U.S. universities for the 2012-13 academic year.  The PES Scholar recipients were selected by industry and academic representatives based primarily upon:  academic preparation, extra-curricular activities and leadership, interest in engineering in general and power and energy engineering in particular, and overall assessment of students' potential for a successful power and energy engineering career.

The need for renewal energy sources for electrical energy savings will require replacing engineers who are retiring.  One way to accomplish this is to recognize young talent, and WPI students are celebrated for being some of the best budding engineers in the US and North America.  In order to attract students in power systems, the Power & Energy Society of IEEE provide these annual scholarships to students who are well qualified for this recognition.

PES is committed to shaping the future of power and energy industry and addresses the challenges facing the industry.  Their goal is to increase the number of well-qualified, entry-level engineers to the power and energy industry.  The program provides not only scholarship and industry internships/co-op experience, but many ways to gain experience and build knowledge in power engineering careers, including mentoring opportunities and special recognition as a PES Scholar.

The WPI PES 2012-2013 Scholars are:  (Top L to R) Jeremy Giguere, Anthony Cangello, Jordyn Rombola, Christopher Sontag, and Matthew Coughlin.  (Bottom L to R) Adrian Delphia, Ali Akhtar, Jeffrey Blanco, and James Corsini.  Not pictured: Patrick Sullivan and Mohammad Ghani.

December 5, 2012

  • Email a Friend
  • Bookmark this Page
  • Share this Page