2014

Thank you for joining us... 

The STEM Education Center at WPI recognizes and appreciates you - educators dedicated to engaging and inspiring students in STEM fields - for the hard work that you do every day. We're glad you joined us for the third annual AweSTEM! event. If you missed it, we hope to see you next year.

Integrated STEM Activities and Contact Information

This year, AweSTEM! teachers presented about integrated STEM activities and how to bring them into your classroom or school. Additionally, they shared examples of integrated STEM activities that you could use tomorrow.

Early Education/Lower Elementary Activity

To Get To The Other Side: Designing Bridges

Presenters
Alison Brown, acbrown321@gmail.com
Steve Label, Ernest P. Bark Elementary School, steverleboo@gmail.com 

Upper Elementary Activity

A Long Way Down: Designing Parachutes

Presenters
Jen DiMeglio, Julia Bancroft Elementary School, jdimeglio@auburn.k12.ma.us
Chris Harris, cmcharris@comcast.net

Middle School Activity

Save the Penguins

Presenters
Nana Abdelkader, Alhuda Academy, nabdelkader@alhudaacademy.org
Cindy Gould, Sky View Middle School, cynthia.gould@leominster.mec.edu
Caroline Grace, Frederick W. Hartnett Middle School, cgrace@bmrsd.net
Christine Robbins, Auburn Middle School, crobbins@auburn.k12.ma.us
Steve Van Voorhis, East Bridgewater Jr/Sr High School, svanvoorhis@ebps.net

High School Activity

Humanitarian Aid Drop (a spin-off of Design Squad's On the Moon)

Presenters
Jackie Bonneau, Mass Academy, bonneau@wpi.edu
April Rose Carter, Wachusett Regional High School, april_carter@wrsd.net
Peter Collins, Shrewsbury High School, pcollins@shrewsbury.k12.ma.us
Cheryl Wood Creeden, Quabbin Regional High School, ccreeden@qrsd.org
Rick Doherty, Tantasqua Regional High School, dohertyr@tantasqua.org
Paul Morrison, Clinton High School, morrisonp@clinton.k12.ma.us
Lynn Sa, Abby Kelley Charter Public School, lsa@akfcs.org

WPI Program's for Educators Handouts

(listed alphabetically)

ASSISTments

Bootstrap

Mass Academy PD

Master's Degrees for Educators

Project Lead The Way

Research Experience for Teachers

Science Learning by Inquiry

STEM Education Center PD

STEM Integration for District Leaders

Summer MIST Math PD

Work at WPI Summer Experience

WPI Programs for Your Student Group

 

 
  • Email a Friend
  • Bookmark this Page
  • Share this Page