The Salisbury Prize

“The Salisbury Prizes are to be awarded to highly meritorious members of the graduating class of Worcester Polytechnic Institute who have faithfully, industriously, and with distinguished attainment completed all requirements for the Bachelor degree.” 

If you have an advisee who you feel is a truly outstanding senior, it would be appropriate to submit a nomination to your department head or program director for consideration as a candidate in your field. The following describes the selection process for the Salisbury Prize: 

  1. Residency Requirement: Candidates must have been enrolled at WPI for at least two years or eight seven-week terms.  Participation in approved exchange programs will be considered attendance at WPI.
  2. Selection Procedure: 
  •         The faculty in each department or program should take the responsibility of selecting from among its majors any seniors who appear to be eligible for consideration. The Salisbury Prize requires that students must have received an A grade for the Humanities and Arts Seminar or Practicum, IQP, and MQP (if completed).  The awards are open to members of the Class of 2015 regardless of their graduation date.  
  •      The members of the teaching staffs of the various degree programs shall normally select one nominee for their respective program. In special circumstances, more than one nominee may be appropriate. A department or program need not submit a nomination if it feels none is warranted.  
  •        Nominations are to be submitted by the appropriate department head or program director and should include a brief supporting statement summarizing the qualifications of the nominee. The nomination will be accepted online no later than Monday, April 13, 2015.

The committee shall select approximately 15 nominees as the most deserving recipients of the prizes. 

 The selection committee will include Dean of Undergraduate Studies Arthur Heinricher, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies Kristin Wobbe, plus one additional faculty representative.  The awards will be presented at the Undergraduate Student Awards Luncheon on April 27, 2015.


Salisbury Prize 2014 Winners

  • Nyansafo Aye-Addo - Aerospace Engineering

  • Paul R. Bender - Civil Engineering

  • Daniel Boudreau - Humanities & Arts

  • Elisabeth Boulanger - Biomedical Engineering

  • Damien J. Cabral - Biochemistry & Biomedical Engineering

  • Katelyn Cabral - Biomedical Engineering

  • Thanacha Choopojcharaen - Robotics Engineering

  • Scott Paul Cornman - Computer Science & Robotics Engineering

  • Xinxin Ding - Biology & Biotechnology and Bioinformatics & Computational Biology

  • Anh Do - Electrical & Computer Engineering

  • Ran Li - Electrical & Computer Engineering

  • Weifan Liu - Mathematical Sciences

  • Nicholas J. Noons - Environmental Engineering

  • Timothy O'Neil - Biomedical Engineering

  • Jose L. Ortiz Rosero - Industrial Engineering

  • Kristin Poti - Biology & Biotechnology and Humanities & Arts

  • John W. Swalec - Chemical Engineering

  • Andrew P. Wolff - Interactive Media & Game Development and Robotics Engineering

**Please note other 2014 Winner included, but not pictured:

  • Ryan B. Weitz - Civil Engineering
  • Email a Friend
  • Bookmark this Page
  • Share this Page