Massachusetts Academy Students Named National Merit Scholarship Finalists

Contact: WPI Media Relations, 508-831-5616

WORCESTER, Mass. -- Nine students at the Massachusetts Academy of Mathematics and Science at Worcester Polytechnic Institute are finalists in the 1997 National Merit Scholarship Program. Announcement of the anticipated 7,000 winners of merit scholarships is expected in April.

The academy, created by act of the Massachusetts Legislature in 1992, is a public high school for juniors and seniors. It is a collaborative effort of the commonwealth of Massachusetts, WPI and the high schools of Massachusetts to identify and nurture the potential of students with exceptional aptitude for mathematics and science. There are 34 juniors and 34 seniors in each class.

The finalists, all seniors, and their sending schools are:

Steven W. Hsu, son of Dr. and Mrs. Robert Hsu of Holden, Wachusett Regional High School; Mark P. Mozynski, son of Mr. and Mrs. Paul Mozynski of Worcester, South High School; Kate E. Noah, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Wayne Noah of Worcester, Burncoat High School; Jamie C. Rasmussen, son of Mr. and Mrs. Douglas Rasmussen of Hopedale, Hopedale High School; Alexandra R. Reith, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James Reith Sr. of Southbridge, Southbridge High School; Nicholas Reville, son of Mr. Paul Reville and Ms. Katherine Perkins of Worcester, Doherty High School; Andrew J. Tolland, son of Mr. and Mrs. Robert Tolland of Sterling, Wachusett Regional High School; Lauren K. Tuori, daughter of Mr. and Dr. Gerald Tuori of Worcester, St. Peter Marian High School; Lauren E. VanWart, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Ronald VanWart of Hubbardson, Quabbin Regional High School.

The students will compete for approximately 7,000 Merit Scholarships, that will be awarded in the spring. More than one million students took the qualifying test with 15,000 semifinalists. The National Merit Scholarship Corp. (NMSC), a not-for-profit organization that operates without government funding, conducts the Merit Scholarship Program. About 75 percent of these scholarships are supported by about 600 independent organizations and institutions that sponsor from one to more than 100 awards in a given year's competition; the remaining awards are underwritten by NMSC.