Hundreds of the World's Premier Fire Safety Scientists to Gather at WPI for International Fire Safety Science Symposium

Contact: WPI Media Relations, 508-831-5616

WORCESTER, Mass. - June 11, 2002 - September 11th forever changed the way many people look at fire safety and fire protection -- raising questions in people's minds about everything from the adequacy of today's fire codes to the sufficiency of water supplies for sprinkler systems and fireproofing of building materials. Most of all, it increased the urgency for an improved understanding of fire and safety issues.

The first detailed scientific presentation on modeling of the fires that collapsed the World Trade Center towers will be one of the highlights of the 7th International Association for Fire Safety Science (IAFSS) Symposium to be held at Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI) on June 16 - 21, 2002. The symposium, the world's most prestigious and comprehensive fire safety science conference, will attract hundreds of the top fire safety scientists, engineers and students from every corner of the globe.

Presentations also will be made on nearly 150 other topics - everything from flame behavior to human behavior in fires to new fire detection and sprinkler technologies to wild fires.

The symposium is hosted by FM Global Research, the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) and WPI, the third oldest private university of engineering and science in the U.S. and one of only three universities in the country offering fire science studies. Additional symposium details are posted at www.wpi.edu/+IAFSS.

IAFSS was founded with the primary objective of encouraging research into the science of preventing and mitigating the adverse effects of fires and of providing a forum for presenting the results of such research. Current members come from Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, Germany, Finland, France, Holland, Hong Kong, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Kingdom and United States of America.