Eighty-five High School Teams Compete at WPI Annual Math Meet

Lexington (Mass.) High School Captures Top Honor for 7th Straight Year

Lexington High School Students Adam Rosenfield, Liz Marcil, advisor Saleh Rahman, students Evan Jenkins, and Mark Lipson.

Canton High School students Benjamin Gray, Daniel Hung, advisor Martin J. Badoian, students Joseph Sceviour, and Chibo Tang

Kent School students, Hyuk Soo Han, Yoon Joo Lee, advisor Ben Nadire, students Youngprapakorn Manunya, and Michael Iannucci.

Dr. Derek Kane, DEKA Research and Development

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Math Meet Web site

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Contact: WPI Media Relations, 508-831-5616

Worcester, Mass.-- Eighty-five teams from throughout New England competed at the 15th Annual WPI Invitational Math Meet on Oct. 17th.

First place honors went to Lexington High School, of Lexington, Massachusetts for the seventh year in a row. Second went to Canton High School, of Canton, Massachusetts and third place went to the Kent School of Kent, Connecticut. Each team consisted of four students.

First place individual winner, of a $3,000 scholarship to WPI, was Hyuk Soo Han of the Kent School. Second place individual winner of a $2,000 scholarship to WPI went to Mark Lipson; third place individual winner of a $1,500 scholarship to WPI went to Adam Rosenfield. Both Mark and Adam are from Lexington High School, other Lexington team members were Liz Marcil and Evan Jenkins. Team advisor was Saleh A. Rahman.

The second place team, Canton High School, consisted of Benjamin Gray, Daniel Hung, Joseph Sceviour, and Chibo Tang. Team advisor was Martin J. Badoian.

The third place team, Kent School, included team members Hyuk Soo Han, Michael Iannucci, Yoon Joo Lee, and Youngprapakorn Manunya. Team advisor was Ben Nadire.

More than $100,000 in team and individual scholarships were awarded at the meet. The top scorer on each of the 85 teams won a $1,000 scholarship. In addition, the top nine teams win scholarships for its three other teammates. These awards range from $1,000 for the first, second and third place teams. $750 for the fourth, fifth, and sixth place teams, and $500 for the seventh, eighth, and ninth place teams.

The other top teams were:

4th place: St. John's High School, Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Team members: Stephen Wu, Mike Cassista, Ikjun Cho, and Rahul Banerjee. Team advisor: Tim Williams.
5th place: Massachusetts Academy of Mathematics and Science (Mass.).
Team members: Marina Gurbanov, Eric Purington and Sean Ting. Team advisor: Jim Barys.
6th place: North Andover (Mass.) High School.
Team members: Nimesh Patel, Ben Lu, Chris Yim, and Culver Cheung. Team advisor: Gale o'Donnell.
7th place: Hudson (Mass.) High School.
Team members: Dominic Albino, Peter Goldstein, Albina Shapiro, and Maria Shugrina. Team advisor: J. Bryan Sullivan.
8th place: East Catholic High School, Manchester, Connecticut.
Team members: Dan Galipeau, Theresa Hepburn, Sarah Castleman, and Michael St. Pierre. Team advisor: Anne Manion.
9th place: Waltham (Mass.) High School.
Team members: Jonathan Borras, Damian Browne, Matthew Daly, and Arjun Sen. Team advisor: George Viens.
10th place: The Derryfield School, Derryfield, New Hampshire.
Team members: Elizabeth Richey, Sakib Khan, Laura Munoz, and Kevin Hamer. Team Advisor: Bryan Duff.
11th place: Manchester (Connecticut) High School.
Team members: Michael Treadow, Heesop Shin, Tinchi Wong, and Jason Gonsalves. Team advisor: Roberta Thompson.
12th place: Westborough (Mass.) High School.
Team members: David Bogaty, Ran Ding, Mike Qin, and Minsi Zhang. Team advisor: James Lightbody.
13th place: Ralph C. Mahar Regional High School (Mass.).
Team members: Lindsey Washburn, Yuya Morimoto, Robert Koonz, and Sae Won Kim. Team advisor: Tim Woodcock.
14th place: Franklin (Mass.) High School.
Team members: Jing Hu, Sherry Wu, Kara Vise, and Shawn Fu. Team advisor: Lee Griffith.
15th place: Rockport (Mass.) High School.
Team members: Mathew Muise, Dan Carr, Alesander Major, and Blake Nangle. Team advisor: Chuck Nicolosi.

Math meet director was WPI mathematics professor John Goulet. During the student testing the team advisors participated in a faculty colloquium "Pattern Formation in Biological Systems" with Megan Lally of Stratus Technologies. Following lunch Dr. Derek Kane of DEKA Research & Development gave a speech called "Cooler Than Legos" while traveling around Alden Hall on Dean Kamen's invention, the Segway. Kevin Kelly, associate vice-president of enrollment management discussed college admissions.

Meet sponsors were Rosenlund Travel Service Inc., Saint-Gobain, Tatnuck Booksellers @WPI, Texas Instruments Inc., The Math Works, and the WPI Master of Mathematics for Educators program.

About WPI

Founded in 1865, WPI is a pioneer in technological higher education. WPI was the first university to understand that students learn best when they have the opportunity to apply the knowledge they gain in the classroom to the solution of important problems. Today its students, working in teams at more than 20 project centers around the globe, put their knowledge and skills to work as they complete professional-level work that can have an immediate positive impact on society.

WPI's innovative, globally focused curriculum has been recognized by leaders in industry, government and academia as the model for the technological education of tomorrow. Students emerge from this program as true technological humanists, well rounded, with the confidence, the interpersonal skills and the commitment to innovation they need to make a real difference in their professional and personal lives.

The university awarded its first advanced degree in 1898. Today, its first-rate research laboratories support masters and Ph.D. programs in more than 30 disciplines in engineering, science and the management of technology. Located in the heart of the region's biotechnology and high-technology sectors, WPI has built research programs--including the largest industry/university alliance in North America--that have won it worldwide recognition.