Presidential Search Process

Leshin was elected after a rigorous six-month nationwide search for WPI’s new president that began in August 2013. WPI partnered with executive search firm Spencer Stuart, and appointed two committees made up of eight board members, seven faculty members, three staff members, two students, and one alumnus. With feedback from the WPI community, the committees sought a candidate with exceptional academic credentials, extensive administrative leadership experience, and a superb ability to communicate a global vision for the institution. Leshin was chosen from an outstanding group of candidates as the Board’s unanimous first choice.

Search committee
Jack Mollen Committee Chairman trustee member
Warner Fletcher Chairman of the Board trustee member
Philip Ryan Interim President trustee member
Diran Apelian Professor faculty representative
Jon Bartelson Assistant CIO staff representative
James Baum trustee member
Julie Bliss Graduate Student student representative
Kristin Boudreau Professor faculty representative
Michael Dolan trustee member
George Oliver trustee member
Stephen Rubin trustee member
Joan Szkutak trustee member
Kristin Tichenor Senior VP administration representative
Myles Walton alumni member
Amy Zeng Professor faculty representative
  • Email a Friend
  • Bookmark this Page
  • Share this Page