Skip to main content

Salisbury Prize

Awarded by

The Salisbury Prizes are awarded to highly meritorious members of the WPI graduating class who have faithfully, industriously, and with distinguished attainment completed all requirements for the Bachelor degree.

Advisors submit nominations to their department head or program director for candidate consideration. The following describes the criteria and selection process:

  • Residency Requirement: Candidates must have been enrolled at WPI for at least two years or eight seven-week terms. Participation in approved exchange programs will be considered attendance at WPI.

  • Selection Procedure:

    • The faculty in each department or program should take the responsibility of selecting from among its majors any seniors who appear to be eligible for consideration. The Salisbury Prize requires that students must have received an A grade for the Humanities and Arts Seminar or Practicum, Interactive Qualifying Project (IQP), and Major Qualifying Project (MQP)-if completed.  The award is open to members of the current graduating Class, regardless of their graduation date.  

    • The members of the faculty of the various degree programs shall normally select one nominee for their respective program. In special circumstances, more than one nominee may be appropriate. A department or program need not submit a nomination if it feels none is warranted.  

    • Nominations are to be submitted by the appropriate department head or program director by April 15, 2022, and should include a brief supporting statement summarizing the qualifications of the nominee.

    • The committee shall select approximately 15 nominees as the most deserving recipients of the prizes.

The selection committee includes the Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies, plus additional faculty representatives. 

Browse Salisbury Prize awardees

Year Recipient Award level Typesort descending alt
sort descending
2007 Kathryn P. Carpenter Winner Undergraduate Biology & Biotechnology
2008 Ryan T. Moniz Winner Undergraduate Electrical & Computer Engineering
2011 Gregory Schaalman Winner Undergraduate Aerospace Engineering
2009 Alison J. LeFlore Winner Undergraduate International Development, Environment, and Sustainability
2009 Linxiao Chen Winner Undergraduate Chemical Engineering
2017 Gyneth Campbell Undergraduate International & Global Studies
2017 Zhehao Zhu Undergraduate Chemistry & Biochemistry
2018 Emma MacIntyre Undergraduate Biomedical Engineering
2019 Toni J. Joy Winner Undergraduate Industrial Engineering
2020 Dung Pham Winner Undergraduate Physics
2020 Olivia Foster Winner Undergraduate Biomedical Engineering
2021 Nicholas J. Krichevsky Winner Undergraduate Computer Science
2021 Allison E. Steeves Winner Undergraduate Professional Writing
2022 Alyssa Moore Winner Undergraduate Robotics Engineering
2016 Vincent N. Azzolino Undergraduate Chemistry & Biochemistry
2014 Anh Do Winner Undergraduate
1994 Mark R. Fuzzetti Winner Undergraduate Chemical Engineering
1995 David J. Lamb Winner Undergraduate Mechanical & Materials Engineering
1996 Carlos A. Zapata Winner Undergraduate Electrical & Computer Engineering
1996 Keith A. Barrett Winner Undergraduate Computer Science
1997 Christine M. Manganis Winner Undergraduate Electrical & Computer Engineering
2013 Rebecca Sharpe Winner Undergraduate
1999 Pavel Murnikov Winner Undergraduate Computer Science
2000 Joseph D. Lussier Winner Undergraduate Chemical Engineering
2001 Justin Lee Sierpinski Winner Undergraduate Humanities & Arts, Mechanical & Materials Engineering
2002 Lauren Elizabeth Wojtkun Winner Undergraduate Humanities & Arts
2003 Nina K. Simon Winner Undergraduate Electrical & Computer Engineering
2004 Stephanie C. Thomas Winner Undergraduate Chemical Engineering, Chemistry & Biochemistry
2004 Robert J. Degon Winner Undergraduate Biomedical Engineering
2012 Amy T. Mazzucotelli Winner Undergraduate Interactive Media & Game Development
2006 Kevin J. LaMalva Winner Undergraduate Civil, Environmental, & Architectural Engineering
2007 Danielle N. Sorenson Winner Undergraduate Biology & Biotechnology
2007 Neil D. Lettenberger Winner Undergraduate Mechanical & Materials Engineering
2011 Karen Anundson Winner Undergraduate Electrical & Computer Engineering
2008 Michael J. Monfreda Winner Undergraduate Aerospace Engineering
2008 Benjamin E. Childs Winner Undergraduate Computer Science
2009 Nicholas B. LeCompte Winner Undergraduate Mathematical Sciences, Physics
2010 Chad Mondor Winner Undergraduate Chemical Engineering, Chemistry & Biochemistry
2017 Muping Chen Undergraduate Physics
2017 Hope Shevchuk Undergraduate Chemical Engineering
2018 Swarnadeep Majumder Undergraduate Physics
2019 Olivia M. Leavitt Winner Undergraduate Biomedical Engineering
2020 Allison Ross Winner Undergraduate Biology & Biotechnology
2020 Jared DeMaio Winner Undergraduate Aerospace Engineering
2021 Kyle R. Lang Winner Undergraduate
2021 Samantha L. Wile Winner Undergraduate Architectural Engineering
2022 Callan Moriarty Winner Undergraduate The Business School
2016 Jessica R. Caccioppoli Undergraduate Civil, Environmental, & Architectural Engineering
1994 Carla D. Richardson Winner Undergraduate Physics
2014 Ryan B. Weitz Winner Undergraduate