The STEM Education Center will host its 8th annual celebration of PreK-12 educators, AweSTEM! 2019 on Wednesday, March 27, 2019 from 3:30 pm to 5:30 pm in Alden Memorial Hall. This year’s theme will be “Growing STEM in Our Communities.”

Presentation information will be added immediately after the program. 

1. Take-Home Science Challenges
    Jenna Erickson (jenna.queior@gmail.com)
    Waltham Public Schools
    https://4thgradesciencetakehomechallenges.weebly.com/ 

2. Growing Your Program with 4-H
    
Kim Pond (kima@umext.umass.edu)
    UMass Extension 4-H Youth Development Program
    mass4h.org
    IMPACT Program Brochure: http://ag.umass.edu/sites/ag.umass.edu/files/pdf-doc-ppt/impact_brochure_final.pdf
    Computer Science 4-H & Google 2017 Press Release: 
    https://4-h.org/media/4-h-and-google-team-up-to-bring-computer-science-education-to-kids-across-the-country/
    Sample Curriculum 
    4-H National Youth Science Day Since 2008

3. Problem of the Month
    
Nicole Kontulis & Sheri Dumas (Nicole.Kontulis@stpetercc.com)
    St. Peter Central Catholic
    Project Overview

4. An Industrial Past for Innovation
    Betsy Wermuth & Lisa Gogolinski (ewermuth@nps.org)
    Northbridge Public Schools
    https://sites.google.com/nps.org/whitins-works/home  

5. First Grade Blooms
    
Elisabeth Powers, Rina Federico, & Sue O'Malley (ewermuth@nps.org)
    St. Joseph Elementary School
    firstgradeblooms.wordpress.com

6. City Science: The Science You Live
    Anna Crocker & Christina Chappell (acrocker@ecotarium.org)
    EcoTarium
    EcoTarium Programs and Education Link: https://ecotarium.org/programs-education/
    City Science and other Featured Exhibits Link: https://ecotarium.org/indoor-explorations/

7. STREAM Around the Globe
    
Nana Abdelkader (nabdelkader@alhudaacademy.org)
    Alhuda Academy
    STREAM Event Overview
    STREAM Standards ELA and SS
    Middle School Science Standards 2019 for STREAM

8. Pre-Collegiate Outreach Programs
    
WPI
    Website: www.wpi.edu/+pop
    Sue Sontgerath (ssont@wpi.edu)

9. Project Lead The Way
    WPI
    Website: www.pltw.org
    Mary Laturnau (program implementation, curriculum content, PLTW agreement and policies, budgeting, equipment/supply
    requirements, student scheduling), mlaturnau@pltw.org
    Martha Cyr (core training at WPI, college credit from WPI, MA specific issues), mcyr@wpi.edu
    PLTW Solution Center, solutioncenter@pltw.org or 877-335-7589

10. STEM Education Center Professional Development 
     WPI
     Website: www.wpi.edu/+pd
     Mia Dubosarsky (mdubosarsky@wpi.edu

11. Seeds of STEM PreK Curriculum
     
Suchira Channoi & Colleen Bostwick
     Head Start Worcester
     https://seedsofstem.org/

12. ICED Epic Challenge Program
     
James Gorman & Christine Cote (jgorman@mursd.org)
     Mendon-Upton Regional School District & Northbridge Public Schools
     ICED Epic Challenge Program Overview

13. Graspable Math
     
WPI
     Website: https://graspablemath.com/
     Erin Ottmar (erottmar@wpi.edu)

14. ASSISTments
     
WPI
     Website: assistments.org
     Cindy Starks & Emma Berman (assistments@wpi.edu)

15. MHS STEM Fair Sponsored by Women in STEM Club
     
Shanley Heller & Kristy Macedo (sheller@medwayschools.org)
     Medway Public Schools
     Template of Master Planning WiSTEM Fair: 
     https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/136YwuxRcK9aTwKMb4ZXVmC9A1Z-D07RSWxGto8AHTFM/edit#gid=800477479

16. Preparing for Careers
     
Ethan Brown (BrownEA@masshirecentral.com)
     MassHire Central Regional Workforce Board
     https://masshirecentral.com/youth/

17. Mass Academy
     
WPI
     Website: www.massacademy.org
     Mike Barney (mbarney@wpi.edu

18. Master's Degrees for Educators: Math & Physics
     
WPI
     Math: John Goulet (goulet@wpi.edu), www.wpi.edu/+mme
     Physics: Doug Petkie (dtpetkie@wpi.edu), https://www.wpi.edu/academics/study/physics-for-educators-mped

19. Integration of Citizen Science, Computer Programming, Modeling of Ecological Systems,
      and the Study of Ecosystem Dynamics
     
Johanna vanderSpek, Jennifer Hardy, & Jennifer Field (vanderspekj@worcesterschools.net)
     Worcester Public Schools & Mendon-Upton Regional School District

20. Opportunities to Partner with WPI Faculty
      
WPI