Skip to main content

2021 President's IQP Award Finalists Presentations

Friday, January 28, 2022
1:15 pm to 5:00 pm



1:15 Opening remarks



Therapeutic Gardening

Students: Matthew B. Adams (ME), Christopher R. Davenport (AER),

Mairead E. O'Neill (CS), Ciara R. Young (CME)

 Advisors: J. Scott Jiusto, Gbetonmasse Somasse




Launching a Competitive Robotics Team for Physically Active Youth

 Students: Augustine K. Asumadu (MIS),  Devan Blechinger-Slocum (ME),  

 Margaret R. Gunville (ME), Sarah A. MacDonald (BME)

 Advisors: Nancy Burnham, Alexander Smith  



 Akyem Dwenase Sanitation 

Students: Elaine Chen (CS), Ruchita Y. Choksey (ME),

Danielle D. Upton (CME), Casey J. Willis (ME)

Advisor: Robert Krueger


Break for 15 Minutes (3-3:15pm)



The Role of Wetlands in the Ruamahanga Catchment

Students: Caroline E. Dalton (CE),  Daniel C. Dietrich (ME),

Meng Lian (CME), Brooklynn Paris (BME)  

Advisors: Fred Looft,  Ingrid Shockey



Mobile Farm Stand: A Vehicle for Education

Students: Minh Anh Kieu (BME), Noah C. Brennick (PW),

Sophia H. Cheng (ME/RBE), Darius Luo (AE)

Advisor: Derren Rosbach


After a brief intermission at the end of the last presentation the judges will announce the 

2021 President’s IQP Award winners!

Friday, 28 January 2022




The following projects received an honorable mention

Utilizing Volunteers to Save the Văcărești Wetlands

Students: Ryan J. Hanna (PH), Catherine S. Masiello (BBT), Andrew Yatsuhashi (CHE), Erik S. Herrera (ME),

Advisors: Melissa Butler and Robert Kinicki


Strengthening ACE Outreach and Communication with African Families

Students: Sydney D. Gagne (CME), Liza A. Hote (CBC/HU), 

Jeremy T. Rhines (CME), Nathan C. Ng (ME) 

Advisors: J. Scott Jiusto, Gbetonmasse Somasse


Exploring Governance Strategies to Restore New Zealand’s Biological Heritage

Students: Joseph N. Coutcher (CE), Colin J. Reynolds (ME), 

Timothy R. Snow (ME)   

Advisors: Fred Looft, Ingrid Shockey


Enhancing the Visitor Experience Along the Sibiu County Trails

Students: Burnon Chen (CHE), Meredith W. Eddy (BME), Edward Philippo (CS), 

Marissa A. Thomas (IE), Nicole R. Whipkey (IE)

Advisors: Melissa Butler, Robert Kinicki


2021 President’s IQP Award Finalist Presentations will be held

Friday, 28 January 2022


We would like to thank the faculty committee for its review of the submitted projects and the selection of the finalists.

The Global School -Worcester Polytechnic Institute 100 Institute Road | Worcester, MA 01609 | 508-831-6699 |


Ruth McKeogh
Phone Number: