COVID-19 Resources & Updates Read More

Inaugural WPI/QCC Integrated Photonics Symposium

Wednesday, October 03, 2018
9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Floor/Room #: 

Join us for:

  • Catalyzing academic-government–industry integrated photonic related collaborations.
  • Exploring ways to facilitate SME’s engagement with the integrated photonics supply chain in New England area.
  • An exclusive planning session for the WPI/QCC AIM Photonics LEAP facility with education, industry, and government representatives.
  • A better understanding of industry and government training, equipment, technology needs in integrated photonics.


WPI (Worcester Polytechnic Institute) and Quinsigamond Community College (QCC) are developing an AIM Photonics Academy Lab for Education & Application Prototypes (LEAP) at WPI, a facility that will support the development of this emerging advanced manufacturing sector, partially funded by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts through the M2I2 program. The Central Massachusetts LEAP will help strengthen companies in the region by enabling their transition into the integrated photonics supply chain, expanding opportunities for research and development, creating additional workforce development and educational programs, and enabling new entrepreneurial activities. This LEAP facility will focus on design, characterization, testing, and workforce development. 

Related links:

This event is in coordination with The Future of Manufacturing Symposium, hosted by MassMEP on October 4. To learn about this event, visit


Click here to view speaker biographies.

9:00 am Welcome Remarks

Bogdan Vernescu, Vice Provost for Research, Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Luis Pedraja, President, Quinsigamond Community College

9:15 am Academic & Corporate Engagement Rachel I. LeBlanc, Assistant Vice President, Academic and Corporate Engagement, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
9:30 am Introduction - The WPI/QCC Vision

Bogdan Vernescu, Vice Provost for Research, Worcester Polytechnic Institute 

Kathy Rentsch, Assistant Vice President for Workforce Readiness and Innovation, Quinsigamond Community College

9:50 am AIM Photonics Overview Michael Liehr, CEO, AIM Photonics
10:20 am Break  
10:35 am Future of Integrated Photonics

Michael Watts, President and CEO, Analog Photonics

Sajan Saini, Education Director, AIM Photonics Academy

11:30 am Government Panel
  • Moderator: Ira Moskowitz, Director, Advanced Manufacturing Programs, Massachusetts Technology Collaborative 
  • Brian Kimball, Soldier Protection and Survivability Directorate, U.S. Army Natick Soldier Research Development and Engineering Center
  • Cheryl Sorace-Agaskar, Technical Staff, MIT Lincoln Laboratory
  • Nicholas Usechak, Director of the Ultrafast Photonic Devices and Research Laboratory, Air Force Research Laboratory
12:30 pm Lunch/Student Panel
  • Moderator: Anu Agarwal, Principal Research Scientist, AIM Photonics Academy
  • Gerald Gagnon, Springfield Technical Community College
  • Alex Medeiros, Electronic Photonic Test Engineer, MIT Lincoln Laboratory, Bridgewater State University
  • Erin Morissette, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Jacob Nordquist, Quinsigamond Community College
1:40 pm Industry Panel
  • Moderator: Preetinder Virk, Senior Vice President and General Manager, Networks, MACOM
  • Matthew Adams, Senior Product Line Manager, Viavi Solutions
  • Richard Grzybowski, Director of Research and Development, MACOM Lightwave
  • Carlos Macias, Senior Director Packaging Solutions, Networks, Macom
  • Yi Qian, Vice President, Product Management/Marketing, MSRI
2:40 pm LEAP Facility Overview Doug Petkie, Department Head and Professor of Physics, Worcester Polytechnic Institute and Jacob Longacre, Quinsigamond Community College
3:00 pm Breakout Sessions

Education and workforce development

Facilities for testing and characterization 

Application and technology development 

3:30 pm The Path Forward Breakout sessions summary and key forward looking actions.
4:00 pm Reception  
5:00 pm Event Concludes  

Advisory Committee Members:

Committee Member Affiliation
Paul Juodawlkis MIT Lincoln Laboratory
John Killiam MassMEP
Lionel Kimerling MIT and AIM Academy
Michael Liehr AIM Photonics

Charlene Mello

Natick Soldier Research, Development and Engineering Center (NSRDEC) 

Ira Moskowitz Mass Tech Collaborative
Kathy Rentsch Quinsigamond Community College
Robert  Rudnitsky NIST
Nicholas Usechak DoD

Preet Virk


Douglas Petkie Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Ellen Piccioli Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Bogdan Vernescu Worcester Polytechnic Institute