WPI Innovator of the Year

Building an Innovation Ecosystem

The WPI Innovator of the Year Award recognizes annually a graduate or friend of WPI who has demonstrated exemplary accomplishments as an innovator, showcasing individuals who have excelled in driving innovation within enterprises of all kinds.

The WPI Innovator of the Year celebration is a key building block of the university's entrepreneurship and innovation ecosystem. It recognizes role models for our students, faculty, staff, alumni, and friends; catalyzes the engagement of highly successful innovators and entrepreneurs in the transformation of WPI; and inspires honorees to commit their time and talent to help WPI become a leading global contributor to addressing the global grand challenges.

Mark O'Neil

2014 WPI Innovator of the Year

Mark O’Neil ’80 is the 2014 WPI Innovator of the Year. As Chairman of the Board, President, and CEO of Dealertrack Technologies, he has grown and reshaped the company from a single credit application provider for automotive dealers and lenders into a true end-to-end technology innovator and pioneer that is transforming automotive retailing. After beginning his career in roles with Intel Corporation and McKinsey & Co., he applied his passion for cars to innovating operations across the automotive sales industry. He served as President of the Pennsylvania-based motor group Ertley MotorWorld; co-founded and led CarMax, Inc., a publicly-held used automobile retailer; and led Greenlight.com, an online automotive sales website, as President and COO. He also serves as a director of Dealer Tire LLC, a privately held company. Mark holds a B.S. in Industrial Engineering from WPI and an MBA from Harvard Business School.

Click the play button to start playing the video.

2014 WPI Innovator of the Year Community Adress

Mark O’Neil ’80 shares his formula for innovation: belief in an idea, a good team, hard work, and perseverance through adversity. Watch the video.

Past Recipients

Year Name Message to Community
2014 Mark O'Neil '80 Watch video
2013 Robert L. Diamond '56 Watch video
2012 David P. Norton ‘62 Watch video
2011 James P. Baum ‘86 Watch video
  • Email a Friend
  • Bookmark this Page
  • Share this Page