Committee on Governance: Minutes

Meeting #27: April 25, 2023 Faculty Governance Conference Room, SL 225 1:00pm – 2:30pm

Present: Len Albano (Chair, CEAE), Althea Danielski (HUA), Tanja Dominko (BBT), George Heineman (CS), Suzanne LePage (CEAE), Mark Richman (Secretary of the Faculty, AE), Diane Strong (President's appointment, WBS), Karen Troy (BME)

- 1. Chair Albano called the meeting to order at 1:06 pm.
- 2. Minutes for Meetings #26 were discussed and approved with changes.

3. Faculty Committee Elections

Chair Albano reports the ballots have been sent out to the faculty, with deadline by 6PM on May 2nd 2023. Chair Albano will invite to the next COG meeting the two incoming elected faculty members -- Prof. Stephen Kmiotek (ChE) and Prof. Mark Claypool (CS).

4. Reorganization of Faculty Handbook

Chair Albano shared feedback from drop-in sessions and the reading group sessions. COG considers this reorganization project to be a huge effort in unifying the WPI faculty.

Prof. Richman summarized specific improvements and reorganizations to the handbook that have already been identified at the two presentations at previous Faculty meetings.

5. May 9th Faculty Meeting

Prof. Richman identified agenda items, which include (a) the list of undergraduate students receiving degrees; (b) the list of graduate MS and PhD students receiving degrees; (c) an M.S. program in FinTech and a Master of Architecture program; (d) a motion for approval of the reorganized Faculty Handbook.

6. The meeting adjourned at 2:40 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

George Heineman Secretary