COG Motion to Modify ByLaw Five

Discussion item
WPI Faculty Meeting
December 2017

Bylaw Five: Secretary of the Faculty

Current wording on the Secretary of the Faculty's term of office:

The Secretary of the Faculty is elected for a term of three years, and may not serve successive terms.

Proposed modification (with text in <u>underlined italics</u> added):

The Secretary of the Faculty is elected for a term of three years, and may not serve <u>more than two</u> successive terms.

- The term of office for the Secretary of the Faculty (SOF) will not be increased to 6 years.
- The current two-stage nomination and election process for the SOF will not change.
- The motion will provide faculty members the option to consider continuity and past experience during the nomination and election process.

The SOF is a leadership position within our Faculty Governance system.

 Faculty meetings, Faculty Handbook and procedures, annual elections to governance committees, implementation and communication of faculty decisions, key contact for faculty concerns, etc. In a leadership position, some benefits of continuity and past experience include

- Moderating the steep learning curve;
- Allowing focus on strategic thinking and planning; and
- Providing time to develop working relationships.

In addition, there are some specific areas of shared governance in which continuity and past experience of the SOF may give value

- Annual Planning and Budget Process;
- Research Misconduct Policy; and
- Faculty evaluations of administrators.

Bylaw Five: Secretary of the Faculty

Current wording on the Secretary of the Faculty's term of office:

The Secretary of the Faculty is elected for a term of three years, and may not serve successive terms.

Proposed modification (with text in <u>underlined italics</u> added):

The Secretary of the Faculty is elected for a term of three years, and may not serve <u>more than two</u> successive terms.

Contact COG Members with feedback:

Glenn Gaudette (Chair)

David Spanagel (Secretary)

Leonard Albano

Susan Roberts

Bengisu Tulu

Suzanne Weekes