## **Committee on Governance: Minutes**

Meeting #18: February 8, 2024
Faculty Governance Office
Faculty Governance Conference Room, SL 225
3:00 pm – 4:30 pm

Members Present: Mark Claypool (CS), Althea Danielski (HUA), George Heineman (Chair, CS), Stephen Kmiotek (ChE), Mark Richman (Secretary of the Faculty, AE), Diane Strong (President's appointment, WBS), Karen Troy (Secretary, BME), Art Heinricher (Interim Provost), Tanja Dominko (BBT),

- 1. The agenda was approved.
- 2. COG revisited the Faculty Handbook Guidelines to fill academic administrative positions. The current version of the Handbook includes details on the composition of search committees for these positions. There is currently no distinction in the process to be used to appoint Provosts, Associate or Assistant Provosts, Deans, and Associate Deans. There are also no current guidelines on how to create or sunset such positions, and there are no guidelines for the time limitations on interim appointments. A proposal to address these issues was discussed.
- 3. COG discussed language to clarify which faculty are eligible to be elected to serve on Faculty committees. It is currently ambiguous as to whether faculty serving in administrative roles such as Associate Dean can be elected to serve on such committees. There are several locations within the Faculty Handbook that refer to Administration. The Handbook also specifies how faculty serving in specific administration roles are either ex officio or appointed members of various Faculty Governance committees. COG voted to approve a motion that will be brought forth for discussion and vote at a future Faculty meeting. The motion would be to define by title (i.e. Provost, Vice Provost, Dean, Associate Dean) those faculty members who are also members of the academic administration, and to limit election eligibility to those faculty members who are not also members of the administration. In effect, this would make all Deans, Associate Deans, or Provosts, or Vice Provosts ineligible to be elected, regardless of the percent effort associated with that appointment, and limit election eligibility to those at the Department Head level and below.
- 4. The meeting was adjourned at 4:30 PM

Respectfully,

Karen Troy COG Secretary