Committee on Tenure and Academic Freedom (CTAF) Meeting Minutes

February 5, 2024, 11:00-12:00

Zoom

Present: Raghu Cowlagi (AE), Tanja Dominko (BBT), Aaron Sakulich (CEAE), Erin Solovey (CS), Stephan Sturm (MA), Mike Timko (ChE), Lyuba Titova (PH), Kris Wobbe, DIGS, Chair)

1. Approved minutes of January 29 meeting.

2. Discussed timing for submission of department member interviews. Agreed to request that these are submitted to Penny by the beginning of B term.

3. Discussed guidance for DTCs re collecting department interviews. A number of possible confusing elements were identified and clarifications made. The committee was also quite concerned by the disparities in how these are handled in different departments. We discussed how to encourage ALL faculty to participate in this important component of the tenure review process, and to support DTCs in this effort. The committee will revise the guidance for DTC members on conducting these interviews over the coming week.

4. CTAF members will also collect the requests from different DTCs that were used to request faculty interviews for their candidates. We will craft a template for use by future DTCs in an effort both to reduce DTC workloads and to provide more uniformity across departments in the future.

5. The chair agreed to determine how many of our candidates for next year are also part of programs where the non-departmental program faculty should also have an opportunity to contribute during the interview process.

Adjourned at 11:54 Submitted by Kris Wobbe, Chair

February 12, 2024, 11:00-12:00

Zoom

Present: Raghu Cowlagi (AE), Tanja Dominko (BBT), Aaron Sakulich (CEAE), Renata Konrad (BUS), Stephan Sturm (MA), Mike Timko (ChE), Lyuba Titova (PH), Kris Wobbe, DIGS, Chair), Erin Solovey (CS), Invited: George Heineman (CS), Mark Claypool (CS)

1. Continued discussing the motion to establish a formal procedure to resolve allegations of academic freedom violations. Proposed comments were reviewed and discussed. Draft to be reviewed by COG on Thursday, then CTAF will vote.

Meeting adjourned at 12:00. Submitted by Renata Konrad, Secretary

Committee on Tenure and Academic Freedom Meeting February 19, 2024, 11:00-12:00

Zoom

Present: Raghu Cowlagi (AE), Tanja Dominko (BBT), Aaron Sakulich (CEAE), Stephan Sturm (MA), Mike Timko (ChE), Lyuba Titova (PH), Kris Wobbe, DIGS, Chair), Erin Solovey (CS) Invited: George Heineman (CS), Mark Claypool (CS)

1. Reviewed latest version of the motion to establish a formal procedure to resolve allegations of academic freedom violations as received from COG. George Heineman and

Mark Claypool explained changes that had been made since we last viewed the motion. Several changes were made to be brought back to COG this afternoon. 2. The motion was approved with minor modifications.

Meeting adjourned at 12:01. Submitted by Kris Wobbe, Chair