Committee on Governance: Minutes Meeting #26: **Thursday April 18, 2024** Faculty Governance Office Faculty Governance Conference Room, SL 225 3:00 pm – 4:30 pm

Members: Mark Claypool (CS), Althea Danielski (Secretary, HUA), Tanja Dominko (BBT), George Heineman (Chair, CS), Art Heinricher (Interim Provost), Stephen Kmiotek (ChE), Mark Richman (Secretary of the Faculty, AE), Diane Strong (President's appointment, WBS), Karen Troy (BME)

- 1. **Minutes:** The minutes for meeting #25 (2024-04-08) were conditionally approved, upon review and acceptance by the guests who visited that meeting, Hal Walker (FAP Chair, CEAE) and Joe Sarkis (BUS).
- 2. **Review of April Faculty Meeting:** The Committee reviewed the business accomplished at the April Faculty Meeting, which included approving a mailing list policy brought by the Community on Information Technology Policy (CITP).

COG reviewed and discussed feedback on a proposed motion that would make faculty members who hold positions in the Administration at the level of Associate Dean or higher ineligible to be elected to faculty governance committees. Arguments against the motion point out that some faculty members who fill administrative positions do so for only 20-50% of their time, and that faculty members could choose who to vote for. COG welcomed this discussion but concluded that the original motion's rationale addresses these concerns.

Another notable component of the April Faculty Meeting was the report on Faculty Populations. The Committee noted that by providing information on the percentages of different types of faculty, the report can reach its goal of fostering discussion on two fundamental questions: who we want to be (as a university) and what kind of scholarly culture we want to create. The Chair of COG noted that there will be a good opportunity to have this discussion next fall with the incoming Provost.

- 3. **Faculty Elections & Appointments:** COG discussed the appointments and elections to fill vacancies on the faculty governance committees for AY 2024-2025. The ballots should be configured by the end of the next COG meeting and sent out to the Faculty for voting early next week.
- 4. The meeting was adjourned at 4:43 pm.

Respectfully,

Althea Danielski

COG Secretary