Committee on Governance: Minutes

Meeting #27: Monday April 22, 2024 Faculty Governance Office Faculty Governance Conference Room, SL 225 3:00 pm – 4:30 pm

Members: Mark Claypool (CS), Althea Danielski (HUA, Secretary), Tanja Dominko (BBT), George Heineman (Chair, CS), Art Heinricher (Interim Provost), Stephen Kmiotek (ChE), Mark Richman (Secretary of the Faculty, AE), Diane Strong (President's appointment, WBS), Karen Troy (BME).

Guest: Kris Wobbe

- 1. COG discussed the appointments made by the President for faculty governance committees for AY 2024-2025. Diane Strong (WBS) was approved as the appointee for COG and Kris Sullivan (Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs) was approved to remain as the appointee for the Committee on Finance and Administrative Policy (FAP). David Olinger (AE) was approved to be the next 3-year appointee for the Faculty Review Committee (FRC). Rodica Neamtu (CS) was approved to be the Provost's appointee for the Committee on Information Technology (CITP).
- Faculty Elections & Appointments:
 COG completed the ballots for faculty governance committees for AY 2024-2025. The
 Secretary of the Faculty planned to send out the ballots to the Faculty for voting before
 the end of the week.
- 3. COG invited Kris Wobbe to join the meeting as the chair of CTAF to discuss incorporating tenured professors of teaching on CTAF. The Faculty Handbook currently states "CTAF consists of nine faculty members having tenure" and now WPI has tenured professors of teaching. COG suggested that if and how the membership is modified, that CTAF lay out the rationale and present it in a Faculty Meeting for consideration. COG also suggested holding meetings to allow people to raise any potential concerns in a more confidential setting. COG further discussed if and how Department Tenure Committee membership could be modified since they play a mentoring and guidance role.
- 4. The meeting adjourned at 4:40pm.

Respectfully, Althea Danielski COG Secretary