

Citation of

Professor Greg Lewin

for the

2024 BOARD OF TRUSTEES' AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING TEACHING

Professor Greg Lewin is an Associate Teaching Professor in the Robotics Engineering (RBE) department and serves as its Associate Department Head.

Professor Lewin's teaching engages his students, pushing them to acquire new knowledge and pursue their interests. As described by one student, "I imagine it would take any other college student at least two semesters to get out of a robotics course what Professor Lewin is able to give to his students in just seven weeks." Professor Lewin regularly teaches the two introductory Robotics courses that students consider to be the most challenging in the curriculum. Students praise him for his efforts in guiding and revising the RBE curriculum to be more educational and less draining on students. One student summed it up this way: "He is too humble to admit it, but he keeps the RBE department together and moving forward."

Professor Lewin has a serious emotional investment in students and their success. Students praise him for his unrivaled dedication to helping students, ensuring their well-being, and improving his courses. Students praise him for being invested in the well-being of his students. His teaching engages students, sparking their interest in robotics and enabling them to pursue that interest. Professor Lewin spends long hours, including nights and weekends, in the lab helping students with lab assignments and project work, never leaving until everyone there understands the material and has their questions answered. One student remarked: "He once stayed with me past midnight to help me with a problem I was having in a lab that he wasn't even teaching. He is incredibly gracious with his time, and he has touched countless students with his helpfulness."

For the time he spends helping students in lab, his continuous improvement of his courses, and his high-quality pedagogy, we are pleased to present the 2024 Board of Trustees' Award for Outstanding Teaching to Professor Greg Lewin.

2024 Trustee's Award for Outstanding Teaching Committee

Professor Jon Abraham, MA
Benjamin Antupit, RBE 2025
Theodore Barnes-Cole, RBE 2026
John Bergendahl, CEAE
Paola Frunzio, CS/PH 2026
Shawn Giles, CS, PhD
Spencer Greene, CS 2026
George Heineman, CS, Chair
Ryan Madan, HUA
Sarah Wodin-Schwartz, MME