The Two Towers Prize

"In keeping with the original purposes of the founders of the College, John Boynton and Ichabod Washburn,  the Two Towers Prize is awarded to the student who, through general academic competence, campus leadership, regular course work, and special work in research and projects, best exemplifies a combined proficiency in the theoretical and practical which is at the heart of the WPI educational tradition.  This prize was given by Mildred M. Tymeson Petrie, the author of Two Towers, the centennial history of WPI." 

This prize is awarded annually to an outstanding member of the junior class. The Two Towers Prize will be presented at the Undergraduate Student Awards Luncheon.

The nomination application will be accepted online no later than Monday, April 14, 2014, and should include the following materials:

  1. A faculty letter of nomination testifying to the nominee’s qualifications;
  2. A personal statement written by the student describing his or her academic and other interests at WPI and future aspirations or goals (500-1000 words);
  3. A resume with a brief description of leadership, campus and community service, employment, internships, research and academic projects (1-2 pages); and
  4. A transcript (an unofficial transcript is acceptable);

Optional:  Additional letters of recommendation from faculty or staff are welcome but not required.

The nomination application consists of two steps. Faculty nominators will ask their students to submit their materials (personal statement, resume and transcript) into the online nomination form. When the students have completed submitting these materials, the faculty nominator(s) will then be notified by email to submit their letters of support in the online application. All materials must be submitted as PDF documents. 

Faculty may nominate one or more third-year students for this award. A student may be nominated by more than one person.  

The recipient will be selected by the following committee: Arthur Heinricher, Dean of Undergraduate Studies; Kristin Wobbe, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies; and Dean Emeritus William Grogan.  

2014 Winner 
 Name  Major
Thomas Moutinho   Biomedical Engineering 
 2014 Honorable Mention
 Name  Major
 Luke Perreault  Biomedical Engineering

  • Email a Friend
  • Bookmark this Page
  • Share this Page