Academic Awards

Charles O. Thompson Scholar, named in honor of WPI’s first president, recognizes outstanding performance by first year students (first year admitted and transfer students).  To be eligible for this award, students must receive all A’s and B’s with a minimum of six A’s, in their academic subjects during their first three terms at WPI. 

As a Charles O. Thompson Scholar, students are eligible to compete for a summer research, design, or creative activity fellowship support award as the Outstanding New Student.  Students write short essays telling us about themselves and why they should be selected as the outstanding member of their class.  They share their motivation for undertaking a project involving research, design, and creative activity; discuss how they anticipate this project will influence their career trajectory; and articulate the reasons they believe they are a deserving candidate for this award. 

Charles O. Thompson Scholar Outstanding Member of the Class

All Charles O. Thompson Scholars are eligible to compete for an award as Outstanding Member of the Class. Part of the application includes composing an essay highlighting their WPI involvement during their first year and why the student feels he/she should be selected as an Outstanding Member of the Class.

Award Recipients

Kranich Prize

The Wilmer L. and Margaret M. Kranich Prize honors students majoring in engineering or science who best exemplify excellence in the humanities and arts and the integration of these disciplines into their undergraduate experience. This includes, but is not limited to, course work, independent projects such as the humanities and arts project, and extracurricular activities. The award is open to students who are majors in any discipline other than humanities and arts and who are completing their junior year or senior year. Wilmer Kranich was dean of graduates studies at WPI, and Margaret Kranich taught a variety of courses at WPI over the years. The Kranich Prize was established in 1994.

Award recipients

Salisbury Prizes

The Salisbury Prize was established in 1871 by Stephen Salisbury II, a WPI founder and president of the Board of Trustees. Each academic department may nominate students who have completed all of their requirements "faithfully, industriously, and with distinguished attainment" for the Salisbury Prize.

Award Recipients

Two Towers Prize

In keeping with the original purposes of the founders of WPI, the Two Towers Prize is awarded to the student who, through general academic competence, campus leadership, regular course work, and special work in research and projects, best exemplifies a combined proficiency in the theoretical and practical union that is at the heart of the WPI educational tradition. This prize was given by Mildred M. Tymeson Petrie, author of Two Towers, WPI's centennial history.

Award Recipients

Dean’s List

In 2008, the faculty voted to reintroduce a Dean’s List in order to celebrate the exceptional work of our students in every class every year. Below are the Dean’s List recipients.

C/D 2022:

A/B 2022:

C/D 2023:

A/B 2023: