Skip to main content

Two Towers Prize

Awarded by

In keeping with the original purposes of the founders of WPI, the Two Towers Prize is awarded to the student who, through general academic competence, campus leadership, regular course work, and special work in research and projects, best exemplifies a combined proficiency in the theoretical and practical union that is at the heart of the WPI educational tradition. This prize was given by Mildred M. Tymeson Petrie, author of Two Towers, WPI's centennial history.

Applications are accepted online and include the following materials (PDF Files Only): 

  • A personal statement written by the student describing his or her academic and other interests at WPI as well as  aspirations or goals (500-1000 words, PDF only);
  • A PDF version of the student’s transcript. For directions on downloading your transcript, click here.
  • A resume with a brief description of leadership, campus and community service, employment, internships, research and academic projects (1-2 pages, PDF Only); and
  • A faculty letter of support testifying to the student’s qualifications.  (Additional letters of support from faculty or staff are welcome but not required.) 


The application consists of three steps.  

  1. Students meet with faculty members to discuss their application.
  2. Students prepare their personal statement and resume and download their transcript. For directions on how to download your transcript, click here. Save all files as PDF documents.
  3. Students submit their materials (personal statement, transcript, and resume) through the online application system by April 6, 2022. When the student has completed submitting these materials, the faculty will be notified by email to submit their letters of support in the online application. All materials must be submitted as PDF documents. 

The selection committee will include the Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies, plus additional faculty representatives.

Browse Two Towers Prize awardees

Year Recipient Award level Type
1997 Michael T. Willock Winner Undergraduate
1996 Jeffrey D. Spaleta Winner Undergraduate
1995 James P. Naughton Winner Undergraduate
1994 Kevin M. Shea Winner Undergraduate
1993 Christopher S. Music Winner Undergraduate
1992 Juliet K. Vescio Winner Undergraduate
1991 Susan C. Moser Winner Undergraduate
1990 Athena Demetry Winner Undergraduate
1989 Kim E. Cloutier Winner Undergraduate
1989 Michelle D. Petkers Winner Undergraduate
1988 Brett A. Pauer Winner Undergraduate
1987 Chrysanthe Demetry Winner Undergraduate
1986 James B. Hannon Winner Undergraduate
1985 Diana M. Sauer Winner Undergraduate
1984 Virginia Ruth Noddin Winner Undergraduate
1983 Jack A. Nickerson, Jr. Winner Undergraduate
1982 Heather D. MacDonald Winner Undergraduate
1981 Carol L. D'Autrechy Winner Undergraduate
1980 Bonnie J. Cook Winner Undergraduate
1979 Elaine C. O'Neill Winner Undergraduate
1978 John R. Caola Winner Undergraduate
1977 Gregory E. Yeo Winner Undergraduate
1974 Patricia Graham Winner Undergraduate
1973 Leonard J. Brzozowski Winner Undergraduate