12 WPI Students Inducted into the LSAMP Scholar Program


On Wednesday, October 27, 2021 the Office of Multicultural Affairs (OMA) inducted twelve (12) WPI undergraduate students into the Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) Scholar Program for the 2021-2022 academic year.

The Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) Scholar Program, named in honor of former congressman Louis Stokes, is a NSF funded program intended to support historically underrepresented students in the STEM fields. Enrollment in the program is reserved to a select and highly committed group of students with a declared major in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and pre-health professions.

As new inductees to the program, these 12 scholars join their peers at WPI along with new colleagues at our sister schools in Northeast Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (NELSAMP). They will gain access to funding to enhance their education through professional development and research; professional and peer mentorship; training in developing a research agenda; participation in supervised research projects and initiatives; and preparation and guidance toward graduate school.

Led by Dr. Funmi Ayobami, Assistant Teaching Professor in Biomedical Engineering and the Office of Multicultural Affairs (OMA) team we hope to enhance the lives of these scholars as they pursue their respective professional endeavors in STEM. Please help us in congratulating our students and wish them well in their professional successes this year and beyond.

The 2021-2022 LSAMP Scholar Program experience is sponsored by the National Science Foundation (NSF), Teradyne, and the Office of Multicultural Affairs (OMA).

WPI's LSAMP Scholar Support Team can be reached at gr-lsamp@wpi.edu.



2021-2022 LSAMP Scholar Program Inductees

Maya Angeles ‘24 - Robotics Engineering

Samuel Appiah Kubi ‘24 - Robotics Engineering

Marissa Desir ‘23 - Biochemistry

Nicole Dressler ‘23 - Biomedical Engineering

Maya Ellis ‘23 - Electrical and Computer Engineering

Florkenthia Jolibois ‘23 - Data Science

Jackie Lopez ‘23 - Robotics Engineering

Gabe Rivera ‘23 - Biomedical Engineering

Kwesi Sakyi '22 - Mechanical Engineering

Adrianna Tagayun ‘24 - Chemical Engineering

Naomi Treto ‘25 - Computer Science

Regina Valencia ‘24  -Aerospace Engineering