On April 4, more than 50 Master’s and PhD candidates shared their innovative and purposeful research with the WPI community at the 2023 Graduate Research Innovation Exchange (GRIE) Finale. It was an exciting event that had the Rubin Campus Center Odeum buzzing with activity and engaged conversation. The following students were awarded prizes (the number of prizes was determined based on the number of students presenting in each category):

Mathematical, Chemical, and Physical Sciences

  • 1st Place: Derek Drumm, Applied Mathematics,
  • 1st Place: Joshua Dickie, Physics

Data Science, Cybersecurity, and Computer Science

  • 1st Place: Marcela Vasconcellos, Data Science
  • 2nd Place: Ricardo Flores, Data Science
  • 3rd Place: Yao Su, Data Science
  • 3rd Place: Eric Vertina, Data Science
  • 3rd Place: Peter VanNostrand, Data Science
  • 3rd Place: Joshua DeOliveira, Data Science

Chemical Engineering and Material Sciences

  • 1st Place: Muntasir Shahabuddin, Chemical Engineering
  • 1st Place: Lily Gaudreau, Chemical Engineering
  • 2nd Place: Elizabeth Belden, Chemical Engineering
  • 3rd Place: Sydney Packard, Chemical Engineering

Business and Social Science

  • 1st Place: Gaayathri Sankar, Business Administration
  • 1st Place: Varun Bhat, Other

Life Sciences and Bioengineering

  • 1st Place: Bryanna Samolyk, Biomedical Engineering
  • 1st Place: Hamilton White, Biomedical Engineering
  • 2nd Place: Elizabeth DiLoreto, Biology and Biotechnology

Robotics, Cyberphysical Systems, Electrical and Computer Engineering

  • 1st Place: Ryo Murakami, Robotics Engineering
  • 2nd Place: Shang Gao, Robotics Engineering
  • 2nd Place: Khai Yi Chin, Robotics Engineering

Aerospace Engineering, Manufacturing Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, and Fire-Protection Engineering

  • 1st Place: Zahra Noori O’Connor, Mechanical Engineering
  • 2nd Place: Alexander Castaneda, Mechanical Engineering
  • 2nd Place: Tyler Lizotte, Aerospace Engineering
  • 3rd Place: Kaoutar Diouri, Civil Engineering


Congratulations to the winners and thank you to all who helped organize and support the event including Terri Camesano, Rory Flinn, Deborah Baron, Stacey Burton, Ellen Lincourt, Nick Couture, Alex DeMello, the Events Office Staff and Facilities & Custodial Staff.

Special thanks to all the judges that gave generously of their time and expertise, including this year’s Lead Judges –

Emmanuel Agu                                  Rodica Neamtu                                 Burt Tilley

Sandyha Balasubramanian           Ali Rangwala                                      Jacob Whitehill

Danielle Cote                                     Elke Rundensteiner                        Catherine Whittington

Siavash Farzan                                   Suzanne Scarlata                              Alex Wyglinski

Christopher Larsen                          Purvi Shah                                           Yihao Zheng

Zhi (Jane) Li                                         Jagan Srinivasan                               Susan Zhou

Zhu Mao                                              Andrew Teixeira