Congratulations to Caitlin Walde on the Three Minute Thesis Competition

Congratulations to Materials Science & Engineering PhD student, Caitlin Walde, on being a runner up in the recent 3MT Competition at WPI. 

WPI Three Minute Thesis Competition

WPI Three Minute Thesis Competition

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) competition is an academic competition that challenges PhD students to describe their research within three minutes to a general audience using only a single static slide. 3MT celebrates the discoveries made by PhD students and encourages their skill in communicating the importance of research to the broader community. The competition takes place annually at numerous universities around the world and was originally founded by the University of Queensland in Australia. WPI hosted its inaugural 3MT competition in March 2018, and will run the competition annually in the Spring thereafter. 

PhD students that have completed their qualifying exam or equivalent milestone in their program are eligible to participate. Student presentations will be evaluated by a panel of judges that will award two top prizes of $500 and $250 at each session, with sessions being held on both the main campus and at Gateway. The audience will select presentations for peoples’ choice prizes of $100 at each session. Each competition will conclude with a lunch and announcement of the winners.

19 PhD students competed in the 2018 WPI 3MT competition. The competitors came from varied departments, including Robotics Engineering, Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Chemical Engineering, Biology and Biotechnology, Mathematical Sciences, Materials Science and Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Computer Science, Aerospace Engineering, Manufacturing Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering. We are happy to formally recognize the winners from the 2018 inaugural competition: 

2018 Main Campus Awards

Caitlin Walde
                            Caitlin Walde

Winner: Lakshmy Krishna Moorthy, Aerospace Engineering

Runner Up and People’s Choice: Tyler Reese, Mathematical Sciences

2018 Gateway Awards:

Winner: Lida Namin, Chemical Engineering

Runner Up (Tie): Caitlin Walde, Materials Science and Engineering

Runner Up (Tie): Douglas Reilly, Biology and Biotechnology

People’s Choice: Chris Chute, Biology and Biotechnology