This message was sent to the WPI community.


It is with great pleasure that I write to announce that President Leshin has approved the establishment of a Staff Council at WPI.

A special thank you to the members of the Inclusive Culture Committee (Lisa Atwell, Patricia Barrows, Christopher Bartley, Kris Boudreau, James De Leon, Eileen Gallant, Arne Gericke, George Heineman, David LaPre, Julia Quinn-Szcesuil, Christine Sharry, Colleen Shaver, and Theona Scola) for their work on benchmarking peer institutional practices related to staff engagement and for developing initial guidelines and a recommendation to President Leshin for the establishment of the inaugural Staff Council at WPI.

The Staff Council will represent the voice of non-union staff on campus and will serve as an advocate to support the interests and needs of staff, while supporting the mission, values, and strategic goals of WPI. The Council will collaborate with the Division of Talent & Inclusion to support a positive and inclusive environment for all WPI staff.

More information on the Staff Council and a call for nominations to serve as representatives on the Council will be forthcoming. Stay tuned!

I’d like to also take this opportunity to extend my appreciation for all your work to support our students throughout this past academic year. Thank you. I hope you are able to take a bit of a break after we wrap up the commencement celebrations over the next few days.




Lauren A. Turner, PhD

Senior Vice President Talent & Inclusion/Chief Diversity Officer

Division of Talent & Inclusion