Professor Diana Lados Elected ASM Fellow


School of Engineering

Congratulations to Professor Diana Lados for being elected a Fellow of the ASM International – the world’s largest association of materials-centric engineers and scientists. Established in 1969, the Fellow of the Society honor represents highest recognition of distinguished contributions in the field of Materials Science and Engineering, and develops a broadly based forum of technical and professional leaders to serve as advisors to the Society. Professor Lados’ citation reads: “For developing and implementing a new integrative design paradigm in Materials Science and Engineering research, education, and application through unique collaborations between university, industry, and government.”

Dr. Lados holds the Milton Prince Higgins II Distinguished Professorship in Mechanical Engineering, and is the Founder and Director of the WPI’s Integrative Materials Design Center (iMdc), a successful university-industry-government Consortium with more than 35 members that advances the state-of-the-art-and-practice in materials-process-component design and manufacturing for performance, reliability, and sustainability. The ASM Fellow honor follows numerous other awards that recognize Professor Lados’ seminal research and educational contributions, including an NSF-CAREER Award, Sigma Xi Junior and Senior Faculty Researcher Awards at WPI, ASM Silver Medal, Inaugural Constance Tipper Silver Medal from the World Academy of Structural Integrity, Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award from SAE, Early Career Faculty Fellow Award and Brimacombe Medalist Award from TMS, and the Kalenian Innovation Award.