Chairman’s Exemplary Faculty Prize



Call for 2021 Nominations

Donald K. Peterson ’71, former Chair of the WPI Board of Trustees, through his personal philanthropy, created the WPI Chairman’s Exemplary Faculty Prize.   Current WPI Board Chairman Jack Mollen has graciously agreed to continue this practice.  Nominations for the academic year 2021 award are now requested.  One prize in the amount of $10,000 will be awarded, hopefully, at WPI’s 2021 Commencement Ceremony.


WPI’s Trustee Awards recognize excellence in particular areas of faculty performance: teaching, research and scholarship, and advising. The purpose of the Chairman’s Prize is to recognize and reward members of the faculty who excel in all relevant areas of faculty performance, the true exemplars of the Institute’s highest aspirations and most important qualities. 


Criteria:  Demonstrated excellence in all areas of faculty performance relevant to the particular nominee.


Eligibility:  Tenured and tenure-track faculty and, new this year, full-time teaching or research faculty are eligible.  Previous recipients are not eligible. 


Nomination Process:   Individuals must be nominated by department heads (no more than one nomination per department), deans, or by the Provost. Nominations, which are to be submitted to the Provost, should consist of:

  • A letter of nomination of no more than three pages in length, together with
    • a current curriculum vitae
    • the three most recent annual reports
    • at least three external letters of support
  • Additional letters of support, a citation index for publications where appropriate, recent summaries of student teaching evaluations and other relevant supporting material may accompany the nomination so as to define the high quality of faculty performance at WPI.


Previous awardees:

2007 Profs. John McNeill and Rick Sisson
2008 Profs. Dave Adams and Alex Emanuel
2009 Prof. Diran Apelian
2010 Prof. Elke Rundensteiner
2011 Prof. Ram Mohan
2012 Prof. Ed Ma
2013 Prof. David Cyganski
2014 Dean Terri Camesano
2015 Prof. Kathi Fisler
2016 Prof. Wes Mott
2017 Prof. Diane Strong
2018 Prof. Ted Clancy
2019 Prof. Sharon Johnson
2020 Profs. Kris Boudreau and John Sullivan

Students and alumni are welcome to send recommendations and/or supporting materials to the appropriate department head.


Deadline for Nominations for the 2020-2021 year: Friday, January 29 2021.  Please submit (electronic versions preferred) to Deb Graves in the Provost’s Office.