Nominations open for Romeo L. Moruzzi Young Faculty Award for Innovation in Undergraduate Education

The Educational Development Council (EDC) is now soliciting nominations for the 2019 Romeo L. Moruzzi Young Faculty Award for Innovation in Undergraduate Education. Romeo was a dedicated professor of Electrical Engineering and a founder of the WPI Plan. This award in his memory has been presented annually since 1999 to recognize early career faculty members who have made specific innovations or improvements to undergraduate education at WPI that have resulted in benefits such as enhanced motivation, conceptual understanding, reinforcement of knowledge, or real-world applications of theory. Recent recipients are showcased on the Awards webpage.

For the first time this year and with the support of the Moruzzi family, TWO award recipients may be selected, one a tenure-track faculty member and one a continuing non-tenure track faculty member. In order to be eligible for the award, a faculty member must meet both of the following requirements at the time of nomination: 1) appointed at WPI in a full-time position for less than six full years (with allowances made for “stop the clock” situations); 2) hold the title of Assistant Professor, Assistant Teaching Professor, Assistant Research Professor, Instructor, or Professor of Practice

Any member of the WPI community of faculty, staff, and students may submit nominations, and self-nominations are allowed. Nominees will be asked to submit two pages of supporting documentation and up to three letters of support by January 10. Each award will be $3,000 in professional development funds, and the winner will be announced at the annual Awards Convocation in April.

In order to allow nominees sufficient time to solicit letters of support, please submit nominations by December 10 using our online form. A nomination is simply a few sentences describing the specific innovation, initiative, or improvement made by the nominee. Details about the remainder of the process will be sent to nominees and can also be found here.