The Office of Sustainability is here to help those in the WPI community looking to have a bigger part in sustainability on campus or in their lives.

From our office staff who run the day-to- day operations, to our volunteer WPI Eco-Reps who can answer any questions that you have about sustainability efforts in your on-campus building, to our Sustainability Advisory Committee who provides leadership and coordination for WPI's campus-wide efforts, feel free to reach out to us on how you can get involved.

Our Staff

PAUL MATHISEN, DIRECTOR OF SUSTAINABILITY

Professor Mathisen joined the Office of Sustainability as Director in 2018, and he continues to teach and conduct research in the areas of water resources and environmental engineering. He enjoys challenging himself to learn new ideas and concepts, which he can then apply to solve problems that can make a difference for other people. WPI's curriculum and projects program provide the perfect environment for fostering these opportunities. Paul looks forward to working with WPI students, faculty, and staff to further sustainability initiatives across the curriculum and in the WPI, Worcester, and global communities. 

Contact Paul: mathisen@wpi.edu

LIZ TOMASZEWSKI, ASSISTANT DIRECTOR OF SUSTAINABILITY

Liz Tomaszewski is Associate Director of Sustainability as well as Facilities Systems Manager and Campus Ombudsman.  She is a member of the AASHE (Association for Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education) Advisory Council, the Education Society for Resource Management, and International Ombudsman Association.  She has a MBA from Bentley College and spent many years in manufacturing management before coming to WPI.

Contact Liz: ltomasz@wpi.edu  

NICOLE LUIZ, STUDENT SUSTAINABILITY INTERN

Nicole is a senior in mechanical engineering. She started her internship in the summer of 2016, developing the annual sustainability report. She currently works as a part-time intern, facilitating the Eco-Rep program and working on various projects. In addition, she is the Vice President of the Green Team, oversees Gompei's Gears and loves working with her fellow interns to create change on the WPI campus.

KYLE CORRY, STUDENT SUSTAINABILITY INTERN

Kyle is a sophomore majoring in Computer Science. On campus Kyle is the president of the Green Team, and hopes to make more students take an active role in sustainability on campus. He enjoys hiking and backpacking, programming, wilderness survival, mindfulness and of course sustainability.

EMA MEHULJIC, STUDENT SUSTAINABILITY INTERN

Ema is a sophomore double majoring in Chemical Engineering and Environmental and Sustainability studies. One of the first steps into sustainability was her creation of the $10,000 idea with a few friends called Goats Go Green. She is the President of Students for a Just and Stable Future where she promotes the collaboration between politics and engineering. As a sustainability intern she hopes to create an inclusive atmosphere among students, faculty, Greek life, facilities, and staff focused on promoting WPI’s sustainability message.

JEREMY SPITTLE, STUDENT SUSTAINABILITY INTERN

Jeremy is a sophomore majoring in Chemical Engineering and minoring in Electrical and Computer Engineering. As an intern, Jeremy enjoys communicating between students and faculty. On campus, he is an active member in Christian Bible Fellowship, Phi Kappa Theta, and the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. Outside of school, he enjoys a variety of intramural sports and spending time with friends.
 

 

WPI Eco-Reps

The Eco-Reps program is a result of a collaboration between WPI, GreenerU, and SynergE Worcester. Eco-Reps are volunteers, and are learning through the program about ways to live and work more sustainably on campus. They host events and focus their efforts towards a particular sustainable theme each term; A term is Water Conservation and Food Waste, B term is Waste Reduction and Recycling, C term is Recycling and Energy Conservation, and D term is determined by the eco-reps. They are also able to assist you with any questions that you have regarding energy usage, recycling, and waste reduction, so find your Eco-Rep and reach out today! Our current list includes:

BUILDING ECO-REP CONTACT EMAIL
Alpha Gamma Delta Ashley White awhite@wpi.edu
Atwater Kent Jim O'Rourke borourke@wpi.edu
Bartlett Center Julie Loveless jloveless@wpi.edu
Campus Center Christine Sharry crsharry@wpi.edu
Chi Omega Sorority Chelsea White ccwhite@wpi.edu
Daniels Hall Sebastian Rodriguez srodriguez@wpi.edu
East Hall Jacqueline Tedesco jatedesco@wpi.edu
Ellsworth Apartments Sarah Campos sdcampos@wpi.edu
Facilities Tessa Mailloux tpmailloux@wpi.edu
Faraday Hall Keely Heyer kpheyer@wpi.edu
Founders Hall

Ravneet Kaur

Laura Auerbach

Michelle Mestres

Shannon Ring

Katherine Burris

Kyle Corry

rkaur@wpi.edu

lauerbach@wpi.edu

mrmestres@wpi.edu

sjring@wpi.edu

keburris@wpi.edu

kncorry@wpi.edu

Fuller Apartments Warren Staver wcstaver@wpi.edu
Fuller Labs

Ann Valerio

Michael Voorhis

avalerio@wpi.edu

mvoorhis@wpi.edu

Gateway 1 Kathleen Adams kadams@wpi.edu
Gateway 2 Gina Betti gbetti@wpi.edu
Gordon Library Judy Fallon jf@wpi.edu
Institute Hall

Kimberly Gutherie

Manasi Danke

Vandana Anand

kpguthrie@wpi.edu

mmdanke@wpi.edu

vanand@wpi.edu

Kaven Suzanne LePage slepage@wpi.edu
Lambda Chi Alpha John Decusati jadecusati@wpi.edu
Morgan Hall Marc Printz mcprintz@wpi.edu
Olin Hall Jackie Malone jmalone@wpi.edu
Project Center Ruth McKeogh rmckeogh@wpi.edu
Residence Hall Council Caroline Armstrong carmstrong@wpi.edu
Riley Hall

Rediet Tegegne

Olivia Gibbs

Claire Barrameda

rtegegne@wpi.edu

osgibbs@wpi.edu

cebarrameda@wpi.edu

Salisbury Labs

Jim Doyle

Lisa Stoddard

Bill Baller

doyle@wpi.edu

eastoddard@wpi.edu

baller@wpi.edu

School of Business (50 Prescott Street)

Gina Betti gbetti@wpi.edu
Sigma Alpha Epsilon House Oliver Sanderson osanderson@wpi.edu
Stoddard 

Sabrina Napoli

sanapoli@wpi.edu

Stoddard Health Center Krista Berube kberube@wpi.edu
Washburn

Kaitlin Badjo

Shannon Skavis

kmbadjo@wpi.edu

smskavis@wpi.edu

25 Trowbridge Kayleah Griffen klgriffen@wpi.edu
Open

Kazim Shaikh

Jacqueline Tedesco

Elsa Luthi

Daniel Cammarata

Ashraf ElShakhs

Ema Mehuljic 

​​kshaikh@wpi.edu

maderousseau@wpi.edu

emluthi@wpi.edu

djcammarata@wpi.edu

baelshakhs@wpi.edu

emehuljic@wpi.edu

Sustainability Advisory Committee

The purpose of the WPI Sustainability Advisory Committee, led by Director of Sustainability John Orr, is to provide leadership and coordination for WPI's campus-wide efforts in energy and resource conservation, economic security, and social well-being. We are an educational institution; thus, these goals are interwoven with our academic goals in teaching about the practices of sustainable design and the impacts of behavioral changes, as well as in conducting research in the reduction of environmental impacts and in methods of enhancing sustainability. The committee is drawn from, and works with, all segments of the WPI community: students, faculty, and staff. Further, since WPI is an active member of the local, regional, and world communities, the work of this committee will have impacts beyond the WPI campus.

Name Position
Bill Spratt Director of Facilities Operations
Corey Dehner Assistant Teaching Professor, IGSD
Greg Snoddy Associate Dean of Students
Janet Pane-Joyce Director of Corporate & Foundation Philanthropy
Joe Sarkis Professor and Department Head, Foisie School of Business
John Orr Director of Sustainability
Julie Loveless Senior Assistant Director, Admissions
Kathy Loftus Global Leader of Sustainable Engineering, Energy Management, Whole Foods Market
Kris Wobbe Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies
Linda Looft Assistant VP of Government and Community Relations
Liz Tomaszewski Assistant Director of Sustainability
Martin Luttrell Digital Communications Manager
MaryBeth Harrity Assistant CIO
Sebastian Rodriguez WPI Class of '20, SGA Representative
Scott Jiusto Associate Professor, IGSD
Ex Officio Bruce Bursten Provost
Ex Officio Jeff Solomon Chief Financial Officer

Want to get involved?

​The Office of Sustainability regularly meets with student leaders in sustainability organizations to stay connected and support our impressive network of student groups. These meetings have brought about new initiatives in the Office of Sustainability and formed bridges between the community's efforts to advance sustainability on campus. For more information on these students and their activities, you can contact their email aliases: