The Office of Sustainability is here to help those in the WPI community looking to have a bigger part in sustainability on campus or in their lives.

From our office staff who run the day-to- day operations, to our volunteer WPI Eco-Reps who can answer any questions that you have about sustainability efforts in your on-campus building, to our Sustainability Advisory Committee who provides leadership and coordination for WPI's campus-wide efforts, feel free to reach out to us on who you can get involved.

Our Staff

JOHN ORR, DIRECTOR OF SUSTAINABILITY

John A. Orr is Director of Sustainability and Professor Emeritus of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Worcester Polytechnic Institute. He served as Provost of WPI from 2007 through 2010 and prior to this he held the positions of Dean of Undergraduate Studies and head of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department. Dr. Orr received the BS and PhD degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, and the MS degree in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University. 

Contact John: orr@wpi.edu  

LIZ TOMASZEWSKI, ASSISTANT DIRECTOR OF SUSTAINABILITY

Liz Tomaszewski is Associate Director of Sustainability as well as Facilities Systems Manager and Campus Ombudsman.  She is a member of the AASHE (Association for Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education) Advisory Council, the Education Society for Resource Management, and International Ombudsman Association.  She has a MBA from Bentley College and spent many years in manufacturing management before coming to WPI.

Contact Liz: ltomasz@wpi.edu  

RYAN COONEY, STUDENT SUSTAINABILITY INTERN

Ryan Cooney is a junior majoring in Electrical and Computer Engineering. He is active in the Student Green Team, the Academic Resource Center, Engineering Ambassadors, and the Inline Hockey Club. In his spare time Ryan enjoys rock climbing, playing guitar, and creating magnificent culinary masterpieces.

NICOLE LUIZ, STUDENT SUSTAINABILITY INTERN

Nicole is a junior majoring in Mechanical Engineering. This year she will be releasing her masterpiece: The 2016-17 Annual Sustainability Report, and plans to reinvigorate the WPI eco-rep program. On campus Nicole is an active member of Green Team, sharing her love for the outdoors and working with others to create change.

MEGHAN TRAHAN, STUDENT SUSTAINABILITY INTERN

Meghan is enjoying her final year at WPI in Environmental Engineering. A member of Green Team, Social Committee, and Engineering Ambassadors, she enjoys spreading sustainability and good cheer among all groups on campus. Off campus, Meghan enjoys skiing, biking, hiking, and running to find peace of mind.

WPI Eco-Reps

The Eco-Reps program is a result of a collaboration between WPI, GreenerU, and SynergE Worcester. Eco-Reps are volunteers, and are learning through the program about ways to live and work more sustainably on campus. They host events and focus their efforts towards a particular sustainable theme each term; A term is Water Conservation and Food Waste, B term is Waste Reduction and Recycling, C term is Recycling and Energy Conservation, and D term is determined by the eco-reps. They are also able to assist you with any questions that you have regarding energy usage, recycling, and waste reduction, so find your Eco-Rep and reach out today! Our current list includes:

BUILDING ECO-REP CONTACT EMAIL
Alpha Gamma Delta Ashley White awhite@wpi.edu
Atwater Kent Jim O'Rourke borourke@wpi.edu
Bartlett Center Julie Loveless jloveless@wpi.edu
Boynton Hall Doreen Manning dmanning@wpi.edu
Campus Center Christine Sharry crsharry@wpi.edu
Chi Omega Sorority Chelsea White ccwhite@wpi.edu
Daniels Hall Sebastian Rodriguez srodriguez@wpi.edu
East Hall Jacqueline Tedesco jatedesco@wpi.edu
Ellsworth Apartments Sarah Campos sdcampos@wpi.edu
Facilities Tessa Mailloux tpmailloux@wpi.edu
Faraday Hall Keely Heyer kpheyer@wpi.edu
Founders Hall

Ravneet Kaur

Laura Auerbach

Michelle Mestres

Shannon Ring

Katherine Burris

rkaur@wpi.edu

lauerbach@wpi.edu

mrmestres@wpi.edu

sjring@wpi.edu

keburris@wpi.edu

Fuller Apartments Warren Staver wcstaver@wpi.edu
Fuller Labs

Ann Valerio

Michael Voorhis

avalerio@wpi.edu

mvoorhis@wpi.edu

Gateway 1 Kathleen Adams kadams@wpi.edu
Gateway 2 Gina Betti gbetti@wpi.edu
Goddard Hall

Felicia Vidito

Lenna Quackenbush

fvidito@wpi.edu

lmquackenbush@wpi.edu

Gordon Library Jess Cotali jcotali@wpi.edu
Institute Hall

Kimberly Gutherie

Manasi Danke

Vandana Anand

kpguthrie@wpi.edu

mmdanke@wpi.edu

vanand@wpi.edu

Kaven Suzanne LePage slepage@wpi.edu
Lambda Chi Alpha John Decusati jadecusati@wpi.edu
Morgan Hall Marc Printz mcprintz@wpi.edu
Olin Hall Jackie Malone jmalone@wpi.edu
Project Center Ruth McKeogh rmckeogh@wpi.edu
Rec Center Niel Hitchen njhitchen@wpi.edu
Residence Hall Council Caroline Armstrong carmstrong@wpi.edu
Riley Hall

Rediet Tegegne

Kyle Corry

Olivia Gibbs

Claire Barrameda

rtegegne@wpi.edu

kncorry@wpi.edu

osgibbs@wpi.edu

cebarrameda@wpi.edu

Salisbury Labs

Jim Doyle

Lisa Stoddard

Bill Baller

doyle@wpi.edu

eastoddard@wpi.edu

baller@wpi.edu

School of Business (50 Prescott Street)

Gina Betti gbetti@wpi.edu
Sigma Alpha Epsilon House Oliver Sanderson osanderson@wpi.edu
Stoddard 

Sabrina Napoli

sanapoli@wpi.edu

Stoddard Health Center Krista Berube kberube@wpi.edu
Stratton Hall Natalie Wellen nswellen@wpi.edu
25 Trowbridge Kayleah Griffen klgriffen@wpi.edu
Washburn

Sheetal Salunke

Mikaela DeRousseau

Ashley White

ssalunke@wpi.edu

maderousseau@wpi.edu

awhite@wpi.edu

Open

Kazim Shaikh

Jacqueline Tedesco

Elsa Luthi

Daniel Cammarata

Ashraf ElShakhs

Ema Mehuljic 

​​kshaikh@wpi.edu

maderousseau@wpi.edu

emluthi@wpi.edu

djcammarata@wpi.edu

baelshakhs@wpi.edu

emehuljic@wpi.edu

Sustainability Advisory Committee

The purpose of the WPI Sustainability Advisory Committee, led by Director of Sustainability John Orr, is to provide leadership and coordination for WPI's campus-wide efforts in energy and resource conservation, economic security, and social well-being. We are an educational institution; thus, these goals are interwoven with our academic goals in teaching about the practices of sustainable design and the impacts of behavioral changes, as well as in conducting research in the reduction of environmental impacts and in methods of enhancing sustainability. The committee is drawn from, and works with, all segments of the WPI community: students, faculty, and staff. Further, since WPI is an active member of the local, regional, and world communities, the work of this committee will have impacts beyond the WPI campus.

Name Position
Bill Spratt Director of Facilities Operations
Corey Dehner Assistant Teaching Professor, IGSD
Greg Snoddy Associate Dean of Students
Joe Sarkis Professor and Department Head, Foisie School of Business
John Orr Director of Sustainability
Julie Loveless Senior Assistant Director, Admissions
Kathy Loftus Global Leader of Sustainable Engineering, Energy Management, Whole Foods Market
Kris Wobbe Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies
Linda Looft Assistant VP of Government and Community Relations
Liz Tomaszewski Assistant Director of Sustainability
Martin Luttrell Digital Communications Manager
MaryBeth Harrity Assistant CIO
Sebastian Rodriguez WPI Class of '20, SGA Representative
Scott Jiusto Associate Professor, IGSD
Ex Officio Bruce Bursten Provost
Ex Officio Jeff Solomon Chief Financial Officer

 

Want to get involved?