Skip to main content

The Fire Protection Board of Advisors meets annually to discuss current issues and future opportunities with the WPI faculty and administration. The board submits its recommendations and reports to the president of WPI and head of WPI's Fire Protection Engineering Department.

Current Members

George E. Toth, (Chair)
Chief Marketing Officer

Melissa Avila
Engineering Manager
Kidde-Fenwal, Inc.

Andrew G. Berezowski
HBT Engineering Fellow
Honeywell l Security and Fire

April Berkol
Chair of the SFPE Foundation Board of Governors
SFPE Research Foundation

Kristin Bigda
Senior Fire Protection Engineer
National Fire Protection Association

Philip Crombie
2nd Vice President
Forensic Laboratory Travelers

Sergey B. Dorofeev
AVP, Director of Fire Hazards and Protection Research
FM Global, Research Division

Tahar El-Korchi
Department Head ad interim, Department of Fire Protection Engineering

Dr. Anthony Hamins
Chief, Fire Research Division
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Mike Knoll
Director of Solution Sales
SIEMENS Building Technologies Division

Zachary Magnone
Sr. Manager - Innovation and New Ventures
TYCO Fire Protection Products

Wayne D. Moore, P.E.
Vice President, Corporate Strategy

Kevin Morin, PE
Code Consultants, Inc.

James Quiter

Thomas Scherpa
Chemical Engineering and Fire Protection Consultant

Victor Sordillo, P.E., CSP
Senior Vice President
QBE Insurance

Donald J. Talka
Senior Vice President & Chief Engineer

Lawrence W. Thau, Jr.
Chief Technical Officer

Bernie Till
Fire Protection Engineering Manager

Jose L. Torero, Ph.D.
Professor of Engineering and Head of School
The University of Queensland

Peter J. Gore Willse, P.E., FSFPE
Vice President – Director of Research
Global Asset Protection Services LLC

Emeritus Members

Douglas Drysdale
Professor of Fire Safety Engineering
Fire Safety Engineering Unit
University of Edinburgh

Howard W. Emmons (deceased)
Professor Emeritus
Harvard University

Rolf H. Jensen (deceased)
Professor and FPE Department Head
Illinois Institute of Technology