Office of the Provost

Donald K. Peterson ’71, former Chair of the WPI Board of Trustees, through his personal philanthropy, created the WPI Chairman’s Exemplary Faculty Prize. Current WPI Board Chair Jack Mollen has graciously agreed to continue this practice. Nominations for the AY21 award are now requested. One prize in the amount of $10,000 will be awarded at WPI’s 2021 Commencement Ceremony.


WPI’s Trustee Awards recognize excellence in particular areas of faculty performance: teaching, research and scholarship, and advising. The purpose of the Chairman’s Prize is to recognize and reward members of the faculty who excel in all relevant areas of faculty performance, the true exemplars of the Institute’s highest aspirations and most important qualities.


Criteria:  Demonstrated excellence in all areas of faculty performance relevant to the particular nominee.


Eligibility:  Tenured and tenure-track faculty and, new this year, full-time teaching or research faculty are eligible.  Previous recipients are not eligible. 


Nomination Process:   Individuals must be nominated by department heads (no more than one nomination per department), deans, or by the Provost. Nominations, which are to be submitted to the Provost, should consist of:

  • A letter of nomination of no more than three pages in length, together with:
    • a current curriculum vitae
    • the three most recent annual reports, and
    • at least three external letters of support.
  • Additional letters of support, a citation index for publications where appropriate, recent summaries of student teaching evaluations and other relevant supporting material may accompany the nomination so as to define the high quality of faculty performance at WPI.

Students and alumni are welcome to send recommendations and/or supporting materials to the appropriate department head.

Deadline for Nominations for the 2020-2021 year: Friday, January 29 2021.  Please submit (electronic versions preferred) to Deb Graves ( in the Provost’s Office.

Previous awardees:

2007       Professors John McNeill and Rick Sisson

2008       Professors Dave Adams and Alex Emanuel

2009       Professor Diran Apelian

2010       Professor Elke Rundensteiner

2011       Professor Ram Mohan

2012       Professor Ed Ma

2013       Professor David Cyganski

2014       Dean Terri Camesano

2015       Professor Kathi Fisler

2016       Professor Wes Mott

2017       Professor Diane Strong

2018       Professor Ted Clancy

2019       Professor Sharon Johnson

2020       Professors Kris Boudreau and John Sullivan