ODIME Inducts 55 Students into the LSAMP Scholar Program


The National Science Foundation (NSF) logo

The National Science Foundation (NSF) logo

On Wednesday, October 4, 2023, the Office of Diversity, Inclusion, and Multicultural Education (ODIME) proudly celebrated and welcomed the induction of fifty-five (55) accomplished WPI undergraduate students into the Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) Scholar Program for the 2023-2024 academic year.

This marks the largest inductee cohort in WPI’s LSAMP history, bringing the total program participation to seventy-four (74) scholars. The occasion was further enriched by insightful remarks from our academic deans, including Mimi Sheller, Dean of the Global School, and Rev. Dr. Deborah Jackson, Dean of the Business School, Arne Gericke, Dean of Undergraduate Studies, and John McNeill, Dean of Engineering. 

The Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) Scholar Program, named in honor of former congressman Louis Stokes, is a National Science Foundation (NSF) funded program intended to support historically underrepresented students in the STEM fields. Enrollment in the program is reserved for a select and highly committed group of students with a declared major in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and pre-health professions.

“Working with students at WPI is amazing. I am especially excited to work with the LSAMP program scholars through their journey at WPI and graduate school planning and enrollment to ultimately succeed in their future careers, wherever that may take them.” 

Jeannine Coburn, Associate Professor in Biomedical Engineering 


As newly admitted participants in the program, these scholars will have the opportunity to access funding to enhance their educational experience, engage in professional development and research, receive guidance and mentorship from both experienced professionals and peers, receive training in formulating a comprehensive research agenda, take part in supervised research projects and initiatives, and receive support and guidance in their pursuit of graduate education. 

“LSAMP is instrumental not only in the way that it empowers our students to embark on STEM careers, but also ensures they thrive along the way. I am so appreciative to be a part of an impactful initiative that cultivates community, enriches students’ educational journeys, and exemplifies the need for diversity in STEM spaces. I am proud to be a champion of our visionary trailblazers and contribute to a program that is paving the way for a more inclusive and promising future.” 

Alesia LeSane, Assistant Director, Multicultural Education and Student Success 

Led by Catherine Whittington, Assistant Professor in Biomedical Engineering and WPI LSAMP Principal Investigator (PI), Jeannine Coburn, Associate Professor in Biomedical Engineering and WPI LSAMP Co-PI, Alesia LeSane, Assistant Director of Multicultural Education and Student Success, and Arnold Lane, Jr., Director of Multicultural Education and Community Engagement with support from the Office of Diversity, Inclusion, and Multicultural Education (ODIME), the program aims to enhance the lives of these scholars as they pursue their respective professional endeavors in STEM.

“It was great to see such a large number of inductees this year representing majors from all over campus. These students are already thinking about what it will take to get to the next stages of their academic and professional careers, and we’re excited to provide resources and opportunities to support them.” 

Catherine Whittington, Assistant Professor in Biomedical Engineering 

We extend our heartfelt congratulations to our accomplished scholars and send them our best wishes for success not only in the academic year ahead but also in all their future endeavors.

The 2023-2024 LSAMP Scholar Program experience is sponsored by the National Science Foundation (NSF)Teradyne, Inc., Collins Aerospace, and the Office of Diversity, Inclusion, and Multicultural Education (ODIME). WPI's LSAMP is an integral member of the Northeastern Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (NELSAMP) network.

WPI's LSAMP Scholar Support Team can be reached at gr-lsamp@wpi.edu. To learn more about WPI's LSAMP participation, please visit:


2023-2024 LSAMP Scholar Program Inductees

Sultan Adedeji ’24 – Computer Science

Ronnie Amoah ’26 – Biomedical Engineering

Joan Amuasi  ’27 – Architectural Engineering

Reily Armenta ’27 – Robotic Engineering

Amin Badmos ’25 – Biomedical Engineering

Sebastian Batista-Valoy ’26 – Environmental Engineering

Darren Belizaire ’26 – Biomedical Engineering

Asha Buchanan ’26 – Computer Science

Alan Carias ‘26 – Mechanical engineering

Estefania Contreras Rivas  ‘26 – Aerospace Engineering + Environmental Science and Sustainable Studies

Taniya Crosby ‘25 – Mechanical engineering

Leithsa Dimanche ‘24 – Biomedical Engineering

Maya Dixon ‘27 – Physics

Alexis Estime ‘27 – Biochemistry

Jazmyn Ewing ‘24 – Biomedical Engineering

Tiffany Foote ‘24 – Biomedical Engineering, Professional Writing

Cameron Gleaton ‘27 – Electrical Engineering

Angela Hernandez ‘27 – Computer Science and Robotics Engineering

Sim Hoffler, Jr. ‘25 – Mechanical Engineering

Xavier  Horta  ‘27 – Robotics

Madeline Jaszek ‘27 – Biochemistry

John Kenney ‘27 – Management Engineering

Joshua Konadu ‘26 – Mechanical Engineering

Alexse LaGuerre ‘25 – Management Information Systems

Marco Legros ‘25 – Architectural Engineering

Samuel Levitan ‘24 – Biology and Biotechnology

Andrea Malaver ‘27 – Biomedical Engineering

Mia Mercado Rodriguez ‘27 – Biomedical Engineering

Andrew Mesa ‘25 – Computer Science, Data Science

Chauncey Michael ‘26 – Chemical Engineering

Javier Moncada ‘26 – Computer Science

Prince  Nanakobi Jr ‘27 – Computer Science

Larissa Nogueira Gomes ‘26 – Biology and Biotechnology

Christian North ‘27 – Aerospace Engineering

Paris Ojuma ‘26 – Biomedical Engineering

Noah Omordia ‘26 – Physics

Marvin Orozco ‘26 – Electrical and Computer Engineering

Ravyn Rapley ‘24 – Civil Engineering

Jessica Rhodes ‘25 – Robotics Engineering

Kobe Richards ‘25 – Data Science

Laura Rodriguez ‘26 – Mechanical Engineering

Thomas Rua ‘24 – Electrical and Computer Engineering

Nathaniel Sanchez ‘27 – Aerospace Engineering

Emiliano Sola ‘25 – Biomedical Engineering

Andrew Soryal ‘27 – Electrical and Computer Engineering

Nigel St Jean  ‘26 – Environmental Engineering, Environmental and Sustainable Studies

Theddy Sterling ‘27 – Aerospace Engineering

Jerson Suarez ‘27 – Electrical and Computer Engineering

Caleb Talley ‘24 – Computer Science

Walter Tamajong ‘26 – Mechanical Engineering

Komlavi Touglo ‘24 – Biology and Biotechnology

Dreivone Townsend ‘24 – Architectural Engineering

Joelis Velez Diaz ‘24 – Chemical Engineering

Tay Yusuf ‘27 – Computer Science

Michael Zamora ‘26 – Chemical Engineering


The Office of Diversity, Inclusion, and Multicultural Education (ODIME) promotes and oversees all student facing diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging (DEIB) learning experiences, programs, services, trainings, and initiatives for WPI.