Mathematical Sciences Dept. to host 2018 Applied and Industrial Mathematics Institute for Secondary Teaching (MIST) Workshop July 16-19, 2018

DEPARTMENT(S): 
May 31, 2018

Applied and Industrial Mathematics Institute for Secondary Teaching

4-DAY WORKSHOP: July 16-19, 2018
Salisbury Labs, Room 104
 

 
 

2018 Mathematics Institute for Secondary Teaching

The Worcester Polytechnic Institute workshop will be held on Monday July 16, 2018 - Thursday July 19, 2018 in Salisbury Labs, 104.Stratton Hall

This workshop will explore:

  • how the mathematics that you teach is used by STEM professionals,
  • what are the career paths open to students well-trained in mathematics,
  • and how the math that you teach forms the foundation for college success.

The workshop will feature:

  • Sessions in which experienced professionals discuss how they use high school mathematics in their work.
  • Sessions in which recent graduates and students discuss their educational experiences, the nature and development of their young careers, and the role of high school mathematics in their professions.
  • Sessions in which college professors discuss how high school mathematics forms the basis for college courses.
  • Networking, brainstorming, and problem-solving.
  • A project in which teachers will develop in groups a hands-on classroom activity based on the presentations
     

The workshop is free and meals will be provided

Presentations of speakers at this year's workshop: TBA

Teachers Presentations: TBA

Sponsored by:
The Department of Mathematical Sciences

For more information, please contact:
Professor Luca Capogna
Email: lcapogna@wpi.edu

Professor John Goulet
Email: goulet@wpi.edu

Professor Stephan Sturm
Email: ssturm@wpi.edu

Professor Andrea Arnold
Email: anarnold@wpi.edu

Professor Barry Posterro:

Email:posterro@wpi.edu 

Ms. Rhonda Podell
Email: rpodell@wpi.edu