AweSTEM! 2018, held on March 28, focused on a theme of "Supporting Diversity in STEM." Thank you to all of the presenters who shared interesting and engaging ways they tackle this theme. Also, thank you to all who attended. Below is the contact information and electronic handouts for all presenters. If you have any questions, please contact Katie Elmes (kaelmes@wpi.edu). 

 

  1. Virtual Reality 
    Jessica Stodulski & Eileen Spinney (stodulskij@fitchburg.k12.ma.us
    Fitchburg Public Schools
    Resources
    Relation to Diversity Theme
  2. MySTEM - Mentoring for Success in STEM
    Jessica Haggett & Tracey Gustafson (jessica.haggett@bbbscm.org)
    More Information and Relation to Diversity Theme
  3. Pre-collegiate Outreach Programs
    WPI
    Website: www.wpi.edu/+pop
    Sue Sontgerath (ssont@wpi.edu)
  4. Project Lead The Way
    WPI
    Website: www.pltw.org
    Mary Laturnau (program implementation, curriculum content, PLTW agreement and policies, budgeting, equipment/supply requirements, student scheduling), mlaturnau@pltw.org
    Martha Cyr (core training at WPI, college credit from WPI, MA specific issues), mcyr@wpi.edu
    PLTW Solution Center, solutioncenter@pltw.org or 877-335-7589
  5. STEM Education Center Professional Development
    WPI
    Website: www.wpi.edu/+pd
    Mia Dubosarsky (mdubosarsky@wpi.edu
  6. Bootstrap: Equity, Scale, Rigor
    Adam Newall (adam.newall@pembrokek12.org)
    Pembroke Public Schools
  7. Project-Based Learning at Elmwood Street School
    Elmwood Street School Team
    Chris Mainhart (cmainhart@millburyschools.org)
  8. NHS's ICED Epic Challenge Program
    James Gorman & Christine Cote (jgorman@nps.org)
    Northbridge Public Schools
  9. Demonstrating STEM Knowledge in Diverse Ways
    Worcester Head Start Team
    Carlene Sherbourne (sherbournec@worc.k12.ma.us)
    Worcester Public Schools
  10. Ramp and Roll: Exploring Friction through the Science and Engineering Practices
    Andrew Hacket & Alex Leith (andrew_hacket@wrsd.net)
    Wachusett Regional School District
  11. ASSISTments
    WPI
    Website: http://www.aboutus.assistments.org
    Neil Heffernan, Cristina Heffernan, and Lulu Moyo, assistments@wpi.edu
  12. Master's Degrees for Educators: Math and Physics
    WPI
    Math: John Goulet (goulet@wpi.edu), www.wpi.edu/+mme
    Physics: Doug Petkie (dtpetkie@wpi.edu), https://www.wpi.edu/academics/study/physics-for-educators-mped
  13. Opportunities to Partner with WPI Faculty
    WPI
  14. Graspable Math
    WPI
    Website: https://graspablemath.com/
    Erin Ottmar (erottmar@wpi.edu
  15. Mass Academy
    WPI
    Website: www.massacademy.org 
    Mike Barney (mbarney@wpi.edu)