Faculty & Staff
Any university employee who operates a vehicle on campus must register with the WPI Police Department bi-annually effective August 1. The vehicle registration process must be accomplished within seven (7) working days from the effective hiring date. A registration form must be completed online by the employee and will be kept on file with WPI Police. Link to the application can be found here. Once application process is complete, the employee will receive decal/new expiration date sticker via inter-office mail, with 5 business days. Completion of application process indicates that the employee has read and agreed to WPI Parking Rules and Regulations. All employees must rectify parking fines owed from the previous year prior to the issuance of the current year permit. Those employees who fail to rectify old fines will not be eligible to park within any campus parking areas. Permits without an expiration date are no longer valid.
Upon arrival to WPI campus, those students eligible to receive a parking permit may fill out the application online here. All eligible vehicles must be registered with the WPI Police Department and must display a current parking permit within the first two weeks of A-Term. A parking quick facts card will be given to all students during the registration process. The college’s entire parking regulations are posted on the WPI Police website.
Students must reconcile all owed violations by the last week of March each academic year. All violations not rectified could result in students being placed on a hold, and will not be eligible for a new parking permit. All parking permits must be placed on the front windshield on the lower left corner on the driver’s side.
Note about Out-of- State Vehicles (Students Only):
Pursuant to the provisions of M.G.L c.90 § 3, as amended by chapter 46 of the acts of 2003, the Nonresident Driver Statement form (PDF) must be completed by every nonresident enrolled as a full time student at a school or college in the Commonwealth who operates a motor vehicle in Massachusetts that is registered in another state or country during any period beginning on September 1 of any year, and ending on August 31 of the following year. This applies to students commuting from out-of- state to a school in Massachusetts and students temporarily residing in Massachusetts. The school will issue the required permit, a decal sticker, which must be affixed to the uppermost center portion of the windshield. The penalty for a nonresident's failure to comply as required is up to $200.