Skip to main content

Being a first-generation student is exciting, and being in this role also comes with some challenges. WPI's First Generation Fellows are faculty members and staff who have been the first in their families to go to college. They are here to help navigate the complexities of being in a college environment and to answer questions or just listen. 

If you're a first generation student at WPI, don't hesitate to reach out to any of the First Generation Fellows. 

Program Fellows

Matthew Foster
Associate Director
Residential Services Office
mfoster@wpi.edu 

Katie Elmes
Director of Equity, Access, & Community
STEM Education Center
kaelmes@wpi.edu 

Bridget Nault
Associate Director
Student Aid & Financial Literacy
benault@wpi.edu 

Claudia Aviles
Assistant Director
Undergraduate Admissions
craviles@wpi.edu 

Heidi Morton
Assistant Director
Career Development Center
hrmorton@wpi.edu 

Jenn Daigle
Operations Associate
Office of Lifetime Engagement & Advancement
jldaigle@wpi.edu 

Amanda Laungani
Associate Director
Career Development Center
adlaungani@wpi.edu 

Dan DiMassa
Assistant Professor
Humanities & Arts
ddimassa@wpi.edu

Stephen Kmiotek
Professor of Practice
Chemical Engineering
sjkmiotek@wpi.edu 

Ian Capozzoli
Admission Counselor
Undergraduate Admissions
imcapozzoli@wpi.edu 

Rebecca Moody
Assistant Teaching Professor
Humanities & Arts
rmoody@wpi.edu 

Jeannine Coburn
Assistant Professor
Biomedical Engineering
jmcoburn@wpi.edu 

Words of Wisdom from the Fellows

Below are some words of wisdom, advice, and thoughts from our First Generation Success Program fellows.

Words of Wisdom from the Fellows

Professor Kmiotek

"I was a First Gen student at WPI in 1976. At the start, I was really nervous about fitting in, but I found a community that was welcoming to everyone, regardless of their background. I hope that all our students, including First Gen, will continue to feel that sense of welcome and I am happy to help you find your home here."

 

Professor Stephen Kmiotek​
Professor of Practice
Chemical Engineering

Amanda Laungani

"Never be afraid to ask for help or clarification!  There are so many resources through your staff and faculty members who are here to support you.  If you don't know, ask!"