Listing of Presenters for AweSTEM! 2015

Thank you for joining us for AweSTEM! 2015. Below is a list of all presenters including links to their websites (if they have one) and documents they wanted to share with participants. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to email Katie Elmes at kaelmes@wpi.edu.

Transformation Unit: Transformation Animation and Character Dilation         1
Anne Emery and Danielle Shaveet, Thomas Prince School; anne_emery@wrsd.net
Middle School

Transformation Animations (PDF)
Carton Dilation (PDF)

La Casa y La Familia: Design and Build a Spanish Inspired House        2
Erin Dubzinski, Thomas Prince School, erin_dubzinski@wrsd.net
Middle School

Belize Home Information (PDF)
Final Check List (PDF)
House Project (PDF)
Image
Spanish House Powerpoint (PDF)
Spanish House Document (PDF)
Spanish Math Document (PDF)

WPI Summer Experience        3
WPI
Summer Programs: Kristin Goppel; kgoppel@wpi.edu 
Early Education/Elementary, Middle School, High School
Camp Reach Teacher: Sue Sontgerath; ssont@wpi.edu
Middle School
ExxonMobil Bernard Harris Summer Science Camp: Maria Borowski; mborowski@wpi.edu  
Middle School  

WPI Programs for your Student Group        4
WPI
Early Education/Elementary, Middle School, High School

The Gingerbread Man and STEM        5
Andrew Hacket and Christina Kristoff, Thomas Prince School; andrew_hacket@wrsd.net & christina_kristoff@wrsd.net 
Early Education/Elementary School

Comparing and Contrasting Gingerbread Model (PDF)
Gingerbread Houses (PDF)
Gingerbread Unit (PDF)
Gingerbread Writing Paper (PDF)
Gingerbread Engineering Tasks (PDF)
Were You Successful Doc (PDF)

Design a Desk        6
Carrie Crowell and Denise Prunier, Thomas Prince School; carrie_crowell@wrsd.net 
Early Education/Elementary School

Design a Desk (PDF)
Share Industry Roles (PDF)

Inq-ITS by SLINQ    7
WPI
Janice Gobert; jgobert@wpi.edu
Middle School

Mass Academy Professional Development        8
WPI
Shari Weaver; sweaver@wpi.edu 
Middle and High School

Mass Academy (PDF)

STEM Education Center Professional Development       9
STEM Integration for District Leaders

WPI
Mia Dubosarsky; mdubosarsky@wpi.edu 
Early Education/Elementary, Middle and High School

Baby Bear Goes to the Zoo: ELL and STEM         10
Erin Da Silvaneto, Nashoba Regional School District; edasilvaneto@nrsd.net
Early Education/Elementary and Middle School

Engineering a Story (PDF) 
Light Up Map (PDF)
PVC Pipe Car (PDF)

Beautiful Transformations: The Art of Transforming Parent Functions     11
Susan Russo, Holy Name Jr/Sr High School; Susan.Russo@holyname.net 
Middle and High School

The Art of Mathematics (PDF)

Master's Degrees for Educators: Math and Physics        12
WPI
Katie Elmes; kaelmes@wpi.edu 
Middle and High School

Chemistry and Physics Explored at Home        13
Jackie Bonneau, Mass Academy; bonneau@wpi.edu
High School

A Ride to Nowhere (PDF)
Create Grade 3 and 4 Ideas (PDF)
Creative Optics Problem (PDF)
Games and the Periodic Table (PDF)
Magic Salt Crystal Garden (PDF)
Mobile Criteria (PDF)
pH Home Test (PDF)
Phaulty Philm (PDF)
Puzzle Print (PDF)
Speed of Darkness (PDF)
Superbowl (PDF)
The Pencil Revolution (PDF)

ASSISTments        14
WPI
Cristina Heffernan; ch@wpi.edu 
Early Education/Elementary, Middle and High School

Bootstrap        15
Independent Program with WPI Affiliation
Emma Youndtsmith; emma@bootstrapworld.org 
Middle and High School

Bootstrap (PDF)

Integrating Environmental Science and Biology with Engineering     16
Maria Berrios and Karen Ares, Auburn High School; mberrios@auburn.k12.ma.us & kares@auburn.k12.ma.us 
High School

AweSTEM Presentation (PDF)
Wind Turbine Challenge (PDF)

Research Experience for Teachers        17
WPI
Aaron Sakulich; arsakulich@wpi.edu 
Middle and High School

Project Lead The Way        18
WPI
Terry Adams; tadams@wpi.edu 
Early Education/Elementary, Middle and High School

PLTW Overview (PDF)

Robotics K-5: In and After School        19
John O’Neill, West Brookfield Elementary School; jfoneill@quaboagrsd.org
Early Education/Elementary School

Lego Presentation (PDF)

ROADS to Asia STEAM Project        20
Amanda Martinez and Kayla Spellane, Thomas Prince School; amanda_martinez@wrsd.net and kayla_spellane@wrsd.net
Middle School

ROADS to Asia STEAM Project (PDF)