WPI is taking measures in response to the rapidly evolving coronavirus (COVID-19) situation. Get the latest information.

Two Towers Prize

Awarded by

In keeping with the original purposes of the founders of WPI, the Two Towers Prize is awarded to the student who, through general academic competence, campus leadership, regular course work, and special work in research and projects, best exemplifies a combined proficiency in the theoretical and practical union that is at the heart of the WPI educational tradition. This prize was given by Mildred M. Tymeson Petrie, author of Two Towers, WPI's centennial history.

The student deadline to apply is Wednesday, April 15, 2020. Applications are accepted online and are to include the following materials(PDF only):

  • A personal statement written by the student describing his or her academic and other interests at WPI as well as  aspirations or goals (500-1000 words, PDF only);
  • A PDF version of the student’s transcript. For directions on downloading your transcript, click here.
  • A resume with a brief description of leadership, campus and community service, employment, internships, research and academic projects (1-2 pages, PDF Only); and
  • A faculty letter of support testifying to the student’s qualifications.  (Additional letters of support from faculty or staff are welcome but not required.) 


The application consists of three steps.  

  1. Students meet with faculty members to discuss their application.
  2. Students prepare their personal statement and resume and download their transcript. For directions on how to download your transcript, click here. Save all files as PDF documents.
  3. Students submit their materials (personal statement, transcript, and resume) through the online application system. When the student has completed submitting these materials, the faculty will be notified by email to submit their letters of support in the online application. All materials must be submitted as PDF documents. 

The faculty submission deadline is April 22, 2020. The selection committee will include the Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies, plus one additional faculty representative.

Browse Two Towers Prize awardees

Year Recipient Award level Type
2019 Alissa Ostapenko Winner Undergraduate
2019 Joshua Driscoll Honorable Mention Undergraduate
2018 Maria Daigle Winner Undergraduate
2018 Brian Zylich Honorable Mention Undergraduate
2018 Toni Joy Honorable Mention Undergraduate
2017 Alex Markoski Winner Undergraduate
2016 Conrad M. Ruiz Winner Undergraduate
2016 Gyneth Campbell Honorable Mention Undergraduate
2014 Thomas Moutinho Winner Undergraduate
2014 Luke Perreault Honorable Mention Undergraduate
2013 Timothy Grupp Winner Undergraduate
2013 Sarah Ann Cote Honorable Mention Undergraduate
2012 Nouran Abdelfattah Winner Undergraduate
2012 Jennifer Mann Honorable Mention Undergraduate
2011 Celena Dopart Winner Undergraduate
2011 Matthew Connolly Winner Undergraduate
2011 Sarah Mattessich Honorable Mention Undergraduate
2011 Tayeisha Jackson Honorable Mention Undergraduate
2010 Olufunmilayo Olatokunbo Adebayo Winner Undergraduate
2010 Elizabeth Dailey Honorable Mention Undergraduate
2009 Kelly E. Johnson Winner Undergraduate
2009 Roseann S. Gammal Winner Undergraduate
2009 Manasi P. Vartak Honorable Mention Undergraduate
2008 Indraneel Sircar Winner Undergraduate
2008 Daniel J. Smaltz Honorable Mention Undergraduate
2008 Nicholas L. Pelletier Honorable Mention Undergraduate
2008 Syed M. Ali Honorable Mention Undergraduate
2007 Charles A. Gammal III Winner Undergraduate
2007 Akanksha Sharma Honorable Mention Undergraduate
2007 Jill M. Goldstein Honorable Mention Undergraduate
2007 Krystal L. Parker Honorable Mention Undergraduate
2006 Amanda McCullough Winner Undergraduate
2006 Sanjayan Manivannan Winner Undergraduate
2005 Martin D. Driggs Winner Undergraduate
2004 Sidharth G. Rupani Winner Undergraduate
2003 Jessica M. McAlear Winner Undergraduate
2002 Nina K. Simon Winner Undergraduate
2001 Katherine C. Wheeler Winner Undergraduate
2000 Nicholas F. Arcolano Winner Undergraduate
1999 Erica L. Tworog Winner Undergraduate
1998 Jennifer M. Wright Winner Undergraduate
1997 Michael T. Willock Winner Undergraduate
1996 Jeffrey D. Spaleta Winner Undergraduate
1995 James P. Naughton Winner Undergraduate
1994 Kevin M. Shea Winner Undergraduate
1993 Christopher S. Music Winner Undergraduate
1992 Juliet K. Vescio Winner Undergraduate
1991 Susan C. Moser Winner Undergraduate
1990 Athena Demetry Winner Undergraduate
1989 Kim E. Cloutier Winner Undergraduate