Skip to main content

Chairman's Exemplary Faculty Prize

Awarded by

This prize, in the amount of $10,000, recognizes WPI faculty members who excel in all relevant areas of faculty performance, including teaching, research and scholarship, and advising. The tradition of awarding the prize was established in 2007 through the personal philanthropy of Donald K. Peterson '71, then chairman of the WPI Board of Trustees; it was continued by current board chairman Philip B. Ryan ’65.


Demonstrated excellence in all areas of faculty performance relevant to the particular nominee.


Tenured and tenure-track faculty at WPI. Previous recipients are not eligible.

Nomination Process:

Individuals must be nominated by department heads (no more than one nomination per department) or by the Provost. Nominations, which are to be submitted to the Provost, should consist of:

  • a letter of nomination of no more than three pages in length, together with 
  • a current curriculum vitae, 
  • the three most recent annual reports, and 
  • at least three external letters of support.
  • Additional letters of support, a citation index for publications where appropriate, recent summaries of student teaching evaluations and other relevant supporting material may accompany the nomination so as to define the high quality of faculty performance at WPI. 

Please submit nominations (electronic versions preferred) to Deb Graves ( in the Provost’s Office.

Browse Chairman's Exemplary Faculty Prize awardees

Year Recipient Type Department(s) Details
2020 John Sullivan Faculty Mechanical Engineering
2020 Kris Boudreau Faculty Humanities & Arts
2019 Sharon Johnson Faculty Foisie Business School

Excellence in Teaching, Research, Advising, and Community Service Recognized at Honors Convocation

View  Profile

2018 Ted Clancy Faculty Electrical & Computer Engineering

Convocation Honors Excellence in Teaching, Research, Advising, Service

2017 Diane Strong Faculty Foisie Business School

Diane Strong Receives WPI's 2017 Chairman's Exemplary Faculty Prize

2016 Wesley T. Mott Faculty Humanities & Arts

Literature Scholar Wesley Mott Receives WPI's 2016 Chairman's Exemplary Faculty Prize

2015 Kathi Fisler Faculty
2014 Terri Camesano Faculty Chemical Engineering

Terri Camesano Receives 2014 Chairman's Exemplary Faculty Prize at WPI Commencement

2013 David Cyganski Faculty Electrical & Computer Engineering

David Cyganski Receives WPI's 2013 Chairman's Exemplary Faculty Prize at Commencement

2012 Yi Hua (Ed) Ma Faculty Chemical Engineering

Yi Hua (Ed) Ma Receives WPI's 2012 Chairman's Exemplary Faculty Prize at Commencement

2011 Ramdas Ram-Mohan Faculty Physics

Ramdas Ram-Mohan Receives WPI's 2011 Chairman's Exemplary Faculty Prize at Commencement

2010 Elke Rudensteiner Faculty Computer Science

Computer Science Professor Elke Rundensteiner Receives WPI's 2010 Chairman's Exemplary Faculty Prize

2009 Diran S. Apelian Faculty Mechanical Engineering
2008 Alexander E. Emanuel Faculty Electrical & Computer Engineering

Two Outstanding WPI Faculty Members Receive Chairman's Exemplary Faculty Prizes at Commencement

2008 David S. Adams Faculty Biology & Biotechnology

Two Outstanding WPI Faculty Members Receive Chairman's Exemplary Faculty Prizes at Commencement

2007 John A. McNeill Faculty Electrical & Computer Engineering

Electrical & Computer Engineering John McNeill has received Chairman's Exemplary Faculty Prize

2007 Richard D. Sisson Faculty Mechanical Engineering