Skip to main content

Salisbury Prize

Awarded by

The Salisbury Prizes are awarded to highly meritorious members of the WPI graduating class who have faithfully, industriously, and with distinguished attainment completed all requirements for the Bachelor degree.

Advisors submit nominations to their department head or program director for candidate consideration. The following describes the criteria and selection process:

  • Residency Requirement: Candidates must have been enrolled at WPI for at least two years or eight seven-week terms. Participation in approved exchange programs will be considered attendance at WPI.

  • Selection Procedure:

    • The faculty in each department or program should take the responsibility of selecting from among its majors any seniors who appear to be eligible for consideration. The Salisbury Prize requires that students must have received an A grade for the Humanities and Arts Seminar or Practicum, Interactive Qualifying Project (IQP), and Major Qualifying Project (MQP)-if completed.  The award is open to members of the current graduating Class, regardless of their graduation date.  

    • The members of the faculty of the various degree programs shall normally select one nominee for their respective program. In special circumstances, more than one nominee may be appropriate. A department or program need not submit a nomination if it feels none is warranted.  

    • Nominations are to be submitted by the appropriate department head or program director by April 15, 2022, and should include a brief supporting statement summarizing the qualifications of the nominee.

    • The committee shall select approximately 15 nominees as the most deserving recipients of the prizes.

The selection committee includes the Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies, plus additional faculty representatives. 

Browse Salisbury Prize awardees

Year Recipientsort ascending alt
sort ascending
Award level Type Department(s)
2009 Zubin H.Patel Winner Undergraduate Chemistry & Biochemistry
2017 Zilu Tian Undergraduate Electrical & Computer Engineering
2012 Zhen Chen Winner Undergraduate
2017 Zhehao Zhu Undergraduate Chemistry & Biochemistry
2013 Zhehao Li Winner Undergraduate
2013 Zehao Li Winner Undergraduate
2019 Zayla D. Schaeffer Winner Undergraduate Chemical Engineering
2016 Yun Jae Sohn Undergraduate Civil, Environmental, & Architectural Engineering
2010 Yuk-Kwan Brian Yuen Winner Undergraduate Mechanical & Materials Engineering
2017 Yuchen Wang Undergraduate Physics
2011 Yizheng Liao Winner Undergraduate Electrical & Computer Engineering
2007 Yang (Russell) Gao Winner Undergraduate
2002 Yakov Kronrod Winner Undergraduate Computer Science
2013 Xuyu Qian Winner Undergraduate
2014 Xinxin Ding Winner Undergraduate
2016 Xavier. J. Jackson Undergraduate Bioinformatics & Computational Biology
2001 Win D. Cheung Winner Undergraduate Chemistry & Biochemistry
2002 William Lucas Churchill Winner Undergraduate Mechanical & Materials Engineering
2007 William A. Pfeil Winner Undergraduate Computer Science, Electrical & Computer Engineering
2014 Weifan Liu Winner Undergraduate
2005 Warren J. Schudy Winner Undergraduate Computer Science, Physics
2018 Virginia Nunez Undergraduate Bioinformatics & Computational Biology
2000 Virginia A. Jerome Winner Undergraduate Humanities & Arts, Mechanical & Materials Engineering
2016 Vincent N. Azzolino Undergraduate Chemistry & Biochemistry
2019 Vincent C. Miller Winner Undergraduate Interactive Media & Game Development
2017 Victoria Loehle Undergraduate Electrical & Computer Engineering
2016 Victor W. Hu Undergraduate Chemical Engineering
2014 Veronica I. Vallenilla Winner Undergraduate
2004 Tzipporah M. Kertesz Winner Undergraduate Chemistry & Biochemistry
2018 Tyler McNeill Undergraduate Biomedical Engineering
2008 Tyler A. Chase Winner Undergraduate Mathematical Sciences
1996 Tung L. Ng Winner Undergraduate Electrical & Computer Engineering
2019 Trung T. Tran Trong Winner Undergraduate Industrial Engineering, Mechanical & Materials Engineering
2022 Trevor Paley Winner Undergraduate Computer Science
1994 Trevor J. Lewis Winner Undergraduate Electrical & Computer Engineering
2019 Toni J. Joy Winner Undergraduate Industrial Engineering
2014 Timothy O'Neil Winner Undergraduate
2017 Tim Petri Undergraduate Computer Science
2019 Thomas V. Ralph Winner Undergraduate Electrical & Computer Engineering, International & Global Studies
2003 Thomas M. Livak Winner Undergraduate Computer Science, Mathematical Sciences
2018 Thomas Leonard Undergraduate Mathematical Sciences
2012 Thomas Carlone Winner Undergraduate
2014 Thanacha Choopojcharoen Winner Undergraduate
1996 Teri L. Brehio Winner Undergraduate Mechanical & Materials Engineering
2010 Tanvir Madan Winner Undergraduate Electrical & Computer Engineering
2021 Sydney E. Messey Winner Undergraduate Aerospace Engineering
2022 Sydney Borrello Winner Undergraduate Mechanical & Materials Engineering
2018 Swarnadeep Majumder Undergraduate Physics
1994 Susan E. Daly Winner Undergraduate Civil, Environmental, & Architectural Engineering
2018 Stephanie Cappelli Undergraduate Environmental Engineering